Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 24 of 24

Thread: Where can the non-throwing SH go after ball thrown-in ?

      
  1. #21

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,544
    Thanks (Received)
    126
    Likes (Received)
    1601

    Default Re: Where can the non-throwing SH go after ball thrown-in ?

    Quote Originally Posted by ChuckieB View Post

    which s/h in their right mind would give up 5 metres? For me it's a lateral line across the pitch and is just there to ensure the s/h on the side losing the strike cannot close down on the other side.
    I see it quite frequently !

    I assume the reasoning is that if you retire to the back foot you can now defend both blind and open side

    Sometimes I will see the SH moving laterally on his offside line, ie away from the scrum to cover the opposing 10 (not so common )
    Last edited by crossref; 27-11-18 at 07:11.

  2. #22
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    28 Feb 17
    Posts
    1,031
    Thanks (Received)
    6
    Likes (Received)
    103
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Where can the non-throwing SH go after ball thrown-in ?

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    I see it quite frequently !

    I assume the reasoning is that if you retire to the back foot you can now defend both blind and open side

    Sometimes I will see the SH moving laterally on his offside line, ie away from the scrum to cover the opposing 10 (not so common )
    It first really came to my attention when I saw TJ perenara, I think it was, drifting away in a super rugby game and the ref directing him in no uncertain terms to get behind the back foot once he had drifted that couple of metres sideways.

  3. #23

    Referees in Scotland
    Pinky's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Edinburgh Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    09 Apr 10
    Posts
    1,381
    Thanks (Received)
    16
    Likes (Received)
    147

    Default Re: Where can the non-throwing SH go after ball thrown-in ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Elpablo73 View Post
    Pinky, I think we will have to agree to disagree about this; I'm of a firm belief one way and you have a different one. I don't see me getting you to change your interpretation, and that's fine. These are the nuances that make our game special.
    Elpablo, if you look at the clips on the WR site, there is one where the Italian 9 drifts to the other side, but stays behind the back foot. However his 10 comes offside 5m back and it is there where the penalty is awarded.

    (Don't look at the Scotland Japan scrum video earlier, I don't know what Greg Laidlaw thought he was doing!)

  4. #24
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    West Yorkshire
    Grade
    Ref Advisor/Assessor
    Join Date
    16 May 16
    Posts
    60
    Thanks (Received)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    14

    Default Re: Where can the non-throwing SH go after ball thrown-in ?

    Pinky, I got to discuss this with a national panel referee coach and he said:

    "World rugby have been known to use videos to illustate points of law that sometimes show other laws not being refereed as they are written, and this is one of them. At the international level keeping the game flowing is the primary aim of the referees and so will manage the players & teams to get this. Rugby on TV and rugby we officiate are effectively 2 different games."

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •