Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Free kick from the grass

      
  1. #1
    Slowing down these days

    Soc/Assoc
    London Society
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    21 Jan 09
    Posts
    383
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    40

    Default Free kick from the grass

    At a lineout near blues 22, red are awarded a free kick. They mistakenly think its a PK and place the ball on the ground and then proceed to kick it through the posts. What is the right call and how do you restart the game ?

  2. #2

    Referees in England
    colesy's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Madrefs
    Grade
    Adviser
    Join Date
    19 Oct 11
    Posts
    317
    Thanks (Received)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    19

    Default Re: Free kick from the grass

    22DO or scrum back if the ball went dead through ingoal.

  3. #3

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,967
    Thanks (Received)
    131
    Likes (Received)
    1626

    Default Re: Free kick from the grass

    Quote Originally Posted by colesy View Post
    22DO or scrum back if the ball went dead through ingoal.
    I agree.

    But in reality when they told the ref that they were having a kick at goal, the ref wouldn't let them go through with it

  4. #4
    Slowing down these days

    Soc/Assoc
    London Society
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    21 Jan 09
    Posts
    383
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    40

    Default Re: Free kick from the grass

    Agreed. Guess I never realised that you can take a free kick as a place kick, legally.

  5. #5

    Referees in England
    chbg's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    D&WRURS, HRURS & ARURS
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    15 May 09
    Posts
    950
    Thanks (Received)
    26
    Likes (Received)
    175

    Default Re: Free kick from the grass

    Quote Originally Posted by CrouchTPEngage View Post
    Agreed. Guess I never realised that you can take a free kick as a place kick, legally.
    But not to score a goal, or for touch. Thank you for pointing out the legality.


    However (dependent on level) it does call for some prior management Law advice.
    Be reasonable - do it my way.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •