Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31

Thread: Quiz #7 tackle in goal

      
  1. #1

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,078
    Thanks (Received)
    135
    Likes (Received)
    1644

    Default Quiz #7 tackle in goal

    Same as usual .. quick answer , A or B

    I will come back later and suggest an answer and then you can tell me how it was different in the old days ..

    Here we go ..

    Blue 11 carries the ball into his own in goal and attempts to run it back

    Still inside the in goal he is tackled by Red 7 and both players hit the deck heavily .

    The ball spills loose, in the direction of the goal line, and Red 7 , still on the floor, rolls over, reaches out and grounds the ball.

    A Try
    B PK to Blue

  2. #2

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,905
    Thanks (Received)
    34
    Likes (Received)
    332

    Default Re: Quiz #7 tackle in goal

    A. Try.

  3. #3
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    724
    Thanks (Received)
    12
    Likes (Received)
    153

    Default Re: Quiz #7 tackle in goal

    Try, in that no obvious reason not too.

  4. #4
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Rugby Nederland
    Grade
    WR level 2
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    1,109
    Thanks (Received)
    17
    Likes (Received)
    296

    Default Re: Quiz #7 tackle in goal

    A. But I feel far more certain of it than my knowledge of the laws can justify, so I suspect a trick.

  5. #5

    Referees in America
    Not Kurt Weaver's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Ohio
    Grade
    C3
    Join Date
    11 Sep 08
    Posts
    2,017
    Thanks (Received)
    14
    Likes (Received)
    109
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Quiz #7 tackle in goal

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    I will come back later and suggest an answer and then you can tell me how it was different in the old days ..
    Well played, always know ur audience

    A, unless Red 7 is in touch or touch in goal.

  6. #6

    Referees in America
    Rank Bajin!
    SimonSmith's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Virginia (USA)
    Grade
    B3
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    8,342
    Thanks (Received)
    48
    Likes (Received)
    715

    Default Re: Quiz #7 tackle in goal

    The "tackle" happens in-goal, so doesn't meet the criteria of a tackle in law.
    Does that leave Red as a player on the ground in open play?

    I'd award the try, I think, because I'm not sure that this is covered in law, and so I'm betting with the attacking team.
    The object of life is not to be on the side of the majority, but to escape finding oneself in the ranks of the insane.
    Marcus Aurelius

    Man may do as he will; he may not will what he wills
    Arthur Schopenhauer

    Tullamore Dew, the Afghan Wigs, and many, many strippers - how to get over your ex. How true.

  7. #7

    Referees in Wales
    tewdric's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Gwent
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    18 Sep 18
    Posts
    144
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    27

    Default Re: Quiz #7 tackle in goal

    Blue seems to have lost the ball forward (towards the goal line from behind the goal line) so initial sanction is scrum 5 red although, assuming advantage applies in-goal I cant see a reason not to give the try.

  8. #8

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,297
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1276

    Default Re: Quiz #7 tackle in goal

    Law 13 might provide the fly for this ointment:
    A player on the ground without the ball is out of the game and must:
    Allow opponents who are not on the ground to play or gain possession of the ball.
    Not play the ball.
    Not tackle or attempt to tackle an opponent.
    Sanction: Penalty.


    although if a player on the ground in TiG can reach out to score, surely a player in-goal can too.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  9. #9

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,547
    Thanks (Received)
    59
    Likes (Received)
    894

    Default Re: Quiz #7 tackle in goal

    the OP doesnt specifically say so but potentially blue grounded the ball when brought to ground prior to losing the ball towards red's DBL ? so 5m scrum.

    Otherwise try.

    didds
    Last edited by didds; 05-02-19 at 10:02.

  10. #10
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    724
    Thanks (Received)
    12
    Likes (Received)
    153

    Default Re: Quiz #7 tackle in goal

    Quote Originally Posted by didds View Post
    the OP doesnt specifically say so but potentially blue grounded the ball when brought to ground prior to lofing the ball towards red's DBL ? so %m scrum.

    Otherwise try.

    didds

    Considered the grounding (thinking Wasps vs Saints) but not clear, and correct about the knock on but wasn't an option. If nothing else try as I can't think of a reason to award a penalty. Closest I can get is playing the ball on the ground, but it is red preventing
    blue from playing it (who is also not on feet?)?

    Still sounds like a try

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •