Red 11 takes a Quick Throw In, but when he throws the ball both his feet are clearly and obviously inside the Field of Play
Blue 9 intercepts the throw, catching the ball 7m from the touchline, and races down the pitch to score.
Decision?
Red 11 takes a Quick Throw In, but when he throws the ball both his feet are clearly and obviously inside the Field of Play
Blue 9 intercepts the throw, catching the ball 7m from the touchline, and races down the pitch to score.
Decision?
IF advantage is playable from this situation presumably a try.
If not, its Option of lineout or scrum.
18.4 At a quick throw, the ball is thrown in:
Between the mark of touch and the thrower’s own goal line; and
Parallel to or towards the thrower’s own goal line; and
So that it reaches the five-metre line before it touches the ground or hits a player; and
By a player whose feet are both outside the field of play.
Sanction: Option of lineout or scrum.
In my head, this may be an occassion whereby advantage is not available becausae in truth the ball has not been returned to play correctly for play to continue.
But QTIs are a zombie ball situation so TBH Im not sure!
didds
7.
Advantage must not be applied and the referee must blow the whistle immediately when:
...
A quick throw, free-kick or penalty is taken incorrectly.
...
I'd rollick the ref for not blowing up before he 'raced down the pitch to score'.![]()
You are correct to call it an error, but a rollicking is perhaps quite harsh as in this very similar scenario it's correct to play advantage
http://www.rugbyrefs.com/showthread....start-Scenario
So it's quite a subtle area of Law
Ah, my bad, I didn't notice !
What do you think of scenarios where the throwing in team have a player collect the ball, so a QTI is on, but an oppo stands in front to them blocking the QTI. In reality, there is no-one to pass to or opposition players are already covering so there is not really a QTI option but the player throws the ball into his opponent to try and gain the sanction.
My thoughts are no sanction, call captains in to state what you've seen (yes oppo should not be stood there blocking, but your player was trying to milk a sanction, both teams stop playing silly buggers, back to original LO). Would you penalise this as technically they have prevented the ball going 5m therefore a FK?
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)