Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 81

Thread: QTI scenario

      
  1. #11

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,895
    Thanks (Received)
    160
    Likes (Received)
    1298
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: QTI scenario

    Quote Originally Posted by Zebra1922 View Post
    What do you think of scenarios where the throwing in team have a player collect the ball, so a QTI is on, but an oppo stands in front to them blocking the QTI. In reality, there is no-one to pass to or opposition players are already covering so there is not really a QTI option but the player throws the ball into his opponent to try and gain the sanction.

    My thoughts are no sanction, call captains in to state what you've seen (yes oppo should not be stood there blocking, but your player was trying to milk a sanction, both teams stop playing silly buggers, back to original LO). Would you penalise this as technically they have prevented the ball going 5m therefore a FK?
    Tell the thrower not to try and buy a cheap penalty.
    Tell the opponent not to stand in the 5m channel again, or he will be penalised.
    In other words...manage it.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  2. #12

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,700
    Thanks (Received)
    64
    Likes (Received)
    933

    Default Re: QTI scenario

    and if the oppo is standing in the way for a QTI that is on?

    frankly - similarly for slow retirees at rucks etc - if you are in the bloody way don't be surprised if the ball hits you. just don;t bloody stand there being a twat.

    didds

  3. #13

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,552
    Thanks (Received)
    110
    Likes (Received)
    1554

    Default Re: QTI scenario

    A player can always take a QTI to himself - but not if an opponent is standing right in front of him. Intentional Offending. PK.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  4. #14

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,766
    Thanks (Received)
    139
    Likes (Received)
    1759

    Default Re: QTI scenario

    Quote Originally Posted by OB.. View Post
    A player can always take a QTI to himself - but not if an opponent is standing right in front of him. Intentional Offending. PK.
    I agree with that.
    I PK the first time I see it

    I actually think it should be clearly in the Law like retreating 10m for a PK , should have to run 5m from a Qti

  5. #15

    Referees in Scotland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    20 Dec 17
    Posts
    471
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    114

    Default Re: QTI scenario

    I had not thought of the penalty option for deliberate infringement but that’s clearly what’s happening here. I’ll use that next time, should knock any future attempts to block on the head quite quickly!

  6. #16
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    07 Mar 17
    Posts
    441
    Thanks (Received)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    89

    Default Re: QTI scenario

    Quote Originally Posted by Zebra1922 View Post
    What do you think of scenarios where the throwing in team have a player collect the ball, so a QTI is on, but an oppo stands in front to them blocking the QTI.
    I always FK the first instance i see of this, then explain 'loudly' that no-one has any business standing inside the 5m, doing so can only ever be intended to prevent a throw, so it matters not to me that the thrower makes an attempt to throw it.

    IME if you cut out 'gamesmanship' early on, then players invariably desist from even attempting it again [another example is rolling the ball away/or dribbling it backwards at a FK to prevent a QKick]

    others might choose the "manage it" approach, 1st FK award invariably does it for me.

  7. #17

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,766
    Thanks (Received)
    139
    Likes (Received)
    1759

    Default Re: QTI scenario

    Why not a PK

  8. #18

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,445
    Thanks (Received)
    112
    Likes (Received)
    1324

    Default Re: QTI scenario

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Why not a PK
    18.6. The ball must reach the five-metre line before it is played and a player must not prevent the ball from travelling five metres. Sanction: Free-kick.


    You can always go PK for deliberate infringement if you want - YMMV. One man's scrum "early engagement" is another man's "charging".
    Last edited by Dickie E; 05-12-18 at 02:12.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  9. #19

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,766
    Thanks (Received)
    139
    Likes (Received)
    1759

    Default Re: QTI scenario

    That law doesn't really fit, it's about what happens when the throw is taken

    I think this one is closer .. this is about preventing a throw from being taken at all
    . A player who carries the ball into touch must release the ball immediately so that a quick throw may be taken. Sanction: Penalty.

  10. #20
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cambridge and St Neots
    Grade
    I am a Fan
    Join Date
    08 Mar 11
    Posts
    1,384
    Thanks (Received)
    22
    Likes (Received)
    221

    Default Re: QTI scenario

    Might be worth trying to manage it the first time with a loud call so everyone knows your watching for it.
    And remember as long as they are not within the 5m channel they are legal.
    crossref - I thought that was only for the ball carrier not releasing the ball.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •