Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: Unclear what happened in in goal

      
  1. #1
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Prefer not to say
    Grade
    Retired
    Join Date
    10 Dec 15
    Posts
    1,756
    Thanks (Received)
    17
    Likes (Received)
    394

    Default Unclear what happened in in goal

    Without the benefit of replays (and despite the title saying it was 'clear', which at first look I didn't think it was), what would you give here?

    For me, in real time, there's no clear knock on and no clear grounding, but you'd still be expected to make a decision!

    https://www.rugbydump.com/news/frida...-clear-blooper

  2. #2

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,150
    Thanks (Received)
    103
    Likes (Received)
    1220

    Default Re: Unclear what happened in in goal

    the kick & chase deserved a try
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  3. #3

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,672
    Thanks (Received)
    127
    Likes (Received)
    1609

    Default Re: Unclear what happened in in goal

    For me it was no try .. 22m DO

  4. #4
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    02 Nov 18
    Posts
    240
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    20

    Default Re: Unclear what happened in in goal

    Looked like there was a knock on after the ball came out of the ruck. There didn't seem to be a grounding and I didn't see a knock on. SO play on for me,unless there's something different for In-Goal. As play had been stopped for the "try" would it not have been a scrum - 5 to the attacking team as they were in possession last?

  5. #5
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Prefer not to say
    Grade
    Retired
    Join Date
    10 Dec 15
    Posts
    1,756
    Thanks (Received)
    17
    Likes (Received)
    394

    Default Re: Unclear what happened in in goal

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    For me it was no try .. 22m DO
    How so?

    Given the referee had already blown without the ball being made dead or clearly knocked on, it's a "stoppage not explicitly covered" and a scrum.

  6. #6

    ELRA/Club Referee


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    08 Nov 18
    Posts
    80
    Thanks (Received)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    25

    Default Re: Unclear what happened in in goal

    On the basis he didn't ground the ball for the try, ball lost forward, scrum 5 to Spain. Had the ref not blown to review the touch down, play advantage to Spain.

  7. #7

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,672
    Thanks (Received)
    127
    Likes (Received)
    1609

    Default Re: Unclear what happened in in goal

    Quote Originally Posted by DocY View Post
    How so?

    Given the referee had already blown without the ball being made dead or clearly knocked on, it's a "stoppage not explicitly covered" and a scrum.
    Yes you are correct.

  8. #8
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Prefer not to say
    Grade
    Retired
    Join Date
    10 Dec 15
    Posts
    1,756
    Thanks (Received)
    17
    Likes (Received)
    394

    Default Re: Unclear what happened in in goal

    I actually asked this as a management problem, rather than law, and ignoring what the referee on the day actually did.

    The law is clear that (if you believe neither possible event was clear) it should be play on, but I expect that'd upset both teams!

  9. #9
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cardiff Society of Welsh Rugby Union Referees
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    05 Jan 18
    Posts
    1,196
    Thanks (Received)
    15
    Likes (Received)
    251

    Default Re: Unclear what happened in in goal

    In real time I'd award the try. The dropped ball "offence" is not C&O. The Ruck knock-on is unclear from the ref's angle. With a TMO I'd expect them to pick bothe offenses correctly so back for the knock on.

  10. #10
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    633
    Thanks (Received)
    14
    Likes (Received)
    112

    Default Re: Unclear what happened in in goal

    Quote Originally Posted by Marc Wakeham View Post
    In real time I'd award the try. The dropped ball "offence" is not C&O. The Ruck knock-on is unclear from the ref's angle. With a TMO I'd expect them to pick bothe offenses correctly so back for the knock on.
    But surely the KO (ruck) advantage had been played out so not going back.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •