Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25

Thread: Unclear what happened in in goal

      
  1. #11
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    02 Nov 18
    Posts
    377
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    35

    Default Re: Unclear what happened in in goal

    I thought it looked like a KO after the ball comes out of the ruck. It bounces up off the Samoan's foot then hits his hand and hots the ground before he picks it up. TBH in real time I'd have expected it to play on too. For the TMO to pick it up. It MAY have hit his knee, but it looked like his hand to me.

    Assuming that it wasn't a knock on after the ruck, I felt there was no clear ground the 1st time I watched it and was more convinced after the 2nd look. Usually when the play is stopped for a non infringement, the scrum is awarded to the team that was last in possession?? That's my thinking for a scrum 5 attacking team put in.

    As I've said many times, I'm not a ref and have only read through the LOTG a few times. Happy to be corrected.

  2. #12
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Rugby Nederland
    Grade
    WR level 2
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    1,109
    Thanks (Received)
    17
    Likes (Received)
    296

    Default Re: Unclear what happened in in goal

    First impression: knock on, red scrum 5. Watched on a small screen, and based mainly on the ball motion at the "grounding"

    Edit: additionally, staying close enough to the ball to make such calls credibly is an important part of management, to me.
    Last edited by Rich_NL; 05-12-18 at 16:12.

  3. #13
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cardiff Society of Welsh Rugby Union Referees
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    05 Jan 18
    Posts
    1,279
    Thanks (Received)
    17
    Likes (Received)
    259

    Default Re: Unclear what happened in in goal

    Quote Originally Posted by Arabcheif View Post
    Usually when the play is stopped for a non infringement, the scrum is awarded to the team that was last in possession?? That's my thinking for a scrum 5 attacking team put in.
    When was play stopped for a "non infringement"?

    I suggets that it was not! A try was "scored" and the ref went upstairs. Tgere were now three possible outcomes to that.

    1: No knock on at either ruck orin the act of scoring = TRY Samoa.
    2: knock on in the act of scoring.= Scrum 5 Spain.
    3: knock on at the ruck. = Scrum back at the place of the knock on Spain.

  4. #14
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    02 Nov 18
    Posts
    377
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    35

    Default Re: Unclear what happened in in goal

    Initially I wasn't convinced about the knock on in the act of scoring. I felt that it had went "back" slightly. I've watched it again and yeah it does go forward.

    My question now is, IF it hadn't been KO, would it be a scrum 5 - Blue?

  5. #15

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,078
    Thanks (Received)
    135
    Likes (Received)
    1644

    Default Re: Unclear what happened in in goal

    If that was me on my own I'd call it a knock on.
    I think that's the safe decision that few will argue with ..You cant give a try when everyone on the pitch saw it fumbled.

    With a TMO you just go to the TMO

  6. #16
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    712
    Thanks (Received)
    16
    Likes (Received)
    133

    Default Re: Unclear what happened in in goal

    Quote Originally Posted by Arabcheif View Post

    My question now is, IF it hadn't been KO, would it be a scrum 5 - Blue?
    Why not a 22....ball put in ingoal by attacking team and made dead?

  7. #17

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,547
    Thanks (Received)
    59
    Likes (Received)
    894

    Default Re: Unclear what happened in in goal

    I don't think anyone would argue that that isn't a knock on really. (This forum will now prove me wrong)


    Don't want to have any doubt over a knock on or not? - should have buried it. Freddie Burns moment.

    didds

  8. #18
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    02 Nov 18
    Posts
    377
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    35

    Default Re: Unclear what happened in in goal

    So at the point the ref blew in the vid. He was awarding the try, so IF the ball hadn't been knocked on it would've still been in play and not dead (at least that's my interpretation) as there "wasn't" a KO In-goal, I thought that play just continues until the defending team touch the ball down and then make it dead.

    If they don't touch it down then play on. But the ref had stopped play when the ball was still live (yes in reality in THIS situation there was a KO so Scrum 5 5-Red). If there hadn't been a KO, am I right in saying Scrum 5 - Blue if there was no KO In-goal? Hope I'm making my question clear

  9. #19

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,078
    Thanks (Received)
    135
    Likes (Received)
    1644

    Default Re: Unclear what happened in in goal

    If you stop play by mistake , when no infringement has happened d. (the normal scenario is a try scored on the 5m line) you resume with a scrum ..

  10. #20
    Player or Coach ChrisR's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Jul 10
    Posts
    3,226
    Thanks (Received)
    33
    Likes (Received)
    320

    Default Re: Unclear what happened in in goal

    Quote Originally Posted by Marc Wakeham View Post
    When was play stopped for a "non infringement"?

    I suggets that it was not! A try was "scored" and the ref went upstairs. Tgere were now three possible outcomes to that.

    1: No knock on at either ruck orin the act of scoring = TRY Samoa.
    2: knock on in the act of scoring.= Scrum 5 Spain.
    3: knock on at the ruck. = Scrum back at the place of the knock on Spain.
    There is a 4th option here: No knock-on in goal but ball not grounded for the try. Ball should still be in play but referee whistled it dead. Therefor restart Blue 5m.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •