Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 26

Thread: Lineout not 5m

      
  1. #11

    Referees in Australia
    menace's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    ACTRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    20 Nov 09
    Posts
    3,533
    Thanks (Received)
    59
    Likes (Received)
    481
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Lineout not 5m

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Sooner or later a player is going to ask you for a Law Reference
    Simple. Ill refer them to 18.6.
    Tell em it's Law 23 and smile

  2. #12

    Referees in Australia
    menace's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    ACTRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    20 Nov 09
    Posts
    3,533
    Thanks (Received)
    59
    Likes (Received)
    481
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Lineout not 5m

    Quote Originally Posted by Rich_NL View Post
    This happens a few times a season for me, lowest leagues and junior rugby. Enough to usually stand by the thrower at attacking LOs in the 22...

    The front player at the lineout fakes a lift, turns around to the hooker and takes a step forward, hands outstretched to catch the short ball, which only goes 3m. LO/scrum option.
    For me that's a FK..

    The ball must reach the five-metre line before it is played and a player must not prevent the ball from travelling five metres. Sanction: Free-kick.
    Tell em it's Law 23 and smile

  3. #13

    Referees in Australia
    menace's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    ACTRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    20 Nov 09
    Posts
    3,533
    Thanks (Received)
    59
    Likes (Received)
    481
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Lineout not 5m

    I must admit I'm perplexed why some would give a scrum/lo when a player (from either team) prevents the ball from reaching the 5m line?

    The part of law 18 that results in that option is:
    THROWING INTO A LINEOUT

    22. The player throwing in the ball stands on the mark of touch with both feet outside the field of play. The thrower must not step into the field of play until the ball has been thrown. Sanction: Option of lineout or scrum.
    23. The ball must:

    a. Be thrown in straight along the mark of touch; and

    b. Reach the five-metre line before it hits the ground or is played.
    Sanction: Option of lineout or scrum. If the lineout is chosen and the ball is again not thrown straight, a scrum is awarded to the team that originally threw in the ball.


    Surely that has to be interpreted as an offence by the thrower? (It's grouped with throwing offences)
    Last edited by menace; 06-12-18 at 10:12.
    Tell em it's Law 23 and smile

  4. #14

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,479
    Thanks (Received)
    56
    Likes (Received)
    875

    Default Re: Lineout not 5m

    It seems harsh to FK somebody for what maybe merely a mistake, rather than a deliberate attempt to circumnavifagate the laws I guess.

    Not that Fks are worth anything.

    Can one choose a lineout for a lineout FK award now? Or is that only PKs? Or was that a trial that has now ended? Or cheese or something green?

    didds

  5. #15

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,892
    Thanks (Received)
    32
    Likes (Received)
    327

    Default Re: Lineout not 5m

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    taff, what do think now you have time to look it up ?
    Don't need to look it up. I'm confident.

    Quote Originally Posted by Rich_NL View Post
    ... The front player at the lineout fakes a lift, turns around to the hooker and takes a step forward, hands outstretched to catch the short ball, which only goes 3m. LO/scrum option.
    Sorry, but I don't think it is a LO / Scrum option in that case.

    I've discussed this before with an assessor and was told that my understanding was right. If the thrower cocks it up - then there are options. But if the front player (as in your example) cocks it up and catches the ball before the ball reaches the 5m line, then it's FK.

  6. #16
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Rugby Nederland
    Grade
    WR level 2
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    1,046
    Thanks (Received)
    13
    Likes (Received)
    273

    Default Re: Lineout not 5m

    Quote Originally Posted by menace View Post
    For me that's a FK..

    The ball must reach the five-metre line before it is played and a player must not prevent the ball from travelling five metres. Sanction: Free-kick.
    That's from the Quick Throw section, not throwing into the lineout - 18.6 instead of 18.23. I think we agree that QTIs have different laws to lineouts?

    Quote Originally Posted by Taff View Post
    Sorry, but I don't think it is a LO / Scrum option in that case.

    I've discussed this before with an assessor and was told that my understanding was right. If the thrower cocks it up - then there are options. But if the front player (as in your example) cocks it up and catches the ball before the ball reaches the 5m line, then it's FK.
    Then why does 18.23 say "... before it hits the ground *or is played*"? That makes no sense.

    When throwing into a lineout, the ball is not going 5m before it is played. I'm really not sure how much clearer the law could be.

    I've also discussed this with an assessor/ref coach, so somewhere something is not going right has it maybe changed in the past?

  7. #17

    Referees in Scotland
    Pinky's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Edinburgh Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    09 Apr 10
    Posts
    1,382
    Thanks (Received)
    16
    Likes (Received)
    147

    Default Re: Lineout not 5m

    For me, the key issue for the sanction is who stopped the ball going 5m. If the thrower or a member of the throwing team, I am offering options to the non-throwing team. If a non-throwing team player stops the ball going 5m I am blowing a FK for blocking the throw. There is no specific sanction for this other than in 18.6 for QTI, but it is one of the drawings of things not allowed.

  8. #18

    Referees in Australia
    menace's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    ACTRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    20 Nov 09
    Posts
    3,533
    Thanks (Received)
    59
    Likes (Received)
    481
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Lineout not 5m

    Quote Originally Posted by Rich_NL View Post
    That's from the Quick Throw section, not throwing into the lineout - 18.6 instead of 18.23. I think we agree that QTIs have different laws to lineouts?



    Then why does 18.23 say "... before it hits the ground *or is played*"? That makes no sense.

    When throwing into a lineout, the ball is not going 5m before it is played. I'm really not sure how much clearer the law could be.

    I've also discussed this with an assessor/ref coach, so somewhere something is not going right has it maybe changed in the past?
    Bloody good point (and pickup).

    Yet in 2017 law book it was under "19.10 Options available in a lineout" point h.
    Blocking the throw-in. A lineout player must not stand less than 5 metres from the touchline. No player may block the throw-in or prevent the ball from travelling 5 metres. Sanction: Free Kick on the 15-metre line.


    And we all know that the new 2018 version of the laws has not changed from 2017!!

    WR are such a clever bunch! *sigh*

    Since there is no change to 2017 laws...then Ill keep applying 2017 interpretation under 19.10 (h)!!
    Tell em it's Law 23 and smile

  9. #19

    Referees in Australia
    menace's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    ACTRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    20 Nov 09
    Posts
    3,533
    Thanks (Received)
    59
    Likes (Received)
    481
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Lineout not 5m

    Quote Originally Posted by Pinky View Post
    For me, the key issue for the sanction is who stopped the ball going 5m. If the thrower or a member of the throwing team, I am offering options to the non-throwing team. If a non-throwing team player stops the ball going 5m I am blowing a FK for blocking the throw. There is no specific sanction for this other than in 18.6 for QTI, but it is one of the drawings of things not allowed.
    Hmmm

    I cant bring myself to apply different sanctions to exactly the same offence based on who is throwing the ball? That does not seem equitable or consistent to me?
    Tell em it's Law 23 and smile

  10. #20

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,672
    Thanks (Received)
    127
    Likes (Received)
    1609

    Default Re: Lineout not 5m

    This has always been an anomaly, and an ambiguity in the Law .
    It a shame that the 2018 Law Book made worse by forgetting to give any sanction for blocking the throw .

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •