Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Re start not 10 and into touch

      
  1. #1
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    28 Oct 16
    Posts
    7
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default Re start not 10 and into touch

    Hi
    Had the situation in an U14's game at the weekend where the restart at half way didn't go 10m, bounced and went into touch .without being played by either team

    Gave an option to the receiving team for re kick or line out on half way, they took the line out.

    Not sure if the option was correct but seem to think line out on half way was, just looking for feedback.

    Cheers,

    Andy.

  2. #2

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,910
    Thanks (Received)
    34
    Likes (Received)
    334

    Default Re: Re start not 10 and into touch

    I'm pretty sure the LO option only exists if the ball is kicked directly to touch. Yours bounced to touch.

    In your case, personally I would have just given the Kick Again / Scrum option, but I'm happy to be corrected if needed.
    Last edited by Taff; 08-12-18 at 12:12.

  3. #3
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Madrefs
    Grade
    Level 15 - 11
    Join Date
    08 Dec 18
    Posts
    3
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default Re: Re start not 10 and into touch

    Quote Originally Posted by Lancsbarts View Post
    Hi
    Had the situation in an U14's game at the weekend where the restart at half way didn't go 10m, bounced and went into touch .without being played by either team

    Gave an option to the receiving team for re kick or line out on half way, they took the line out.

    Not sure if the option was correct but seem to think line out on half way was, just looking for feedback.

    Cheers,

    Andy.
    Law 13.8 taken directly from the laws app

    The ball must land in the field of play. If it is kicked directly into touch the opposing team has three choices:

    • To have the ball kicked off again, or
    • To have a scrum at the centre and they have the throw-in, or
    • To accept the kick.

    If they accept the kick, the lineout is on the half way line. If the ball is blown behind the half way line and goes directly into touch, the lineout is at the place where it went into touch.

    going from that I think you were correct

  4. #4

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,383
    Thanks (Received)
    136
    Likes (Received)
    1679

    Default Re: Re start not 10 and into touch

    Did the ball cross the 10m after it bounced , before it went into touch? If so kick is good. Line out.

    If not options , kick again or scrum . (Not a lineout as it bounced, so the touch part was ok, its the 10m bit they failed on)

  5. #5

    Referees in Australia
    menace's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    ACTRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    20 Nov 09
    Posts
    3,537
    Thanks (Received)
    59
    Likes (Received)
    482
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Re start not 10 and into touch

    Quote Originally Posted by Lancsbarts View Post
    Hi
    Had the situation in an U14's game at the weekend where the restart at half way didn't go 10m, bounced and went into touch .without being played by either team

    Gave an option to the receiving team for re kick or line out on half way, they took the line out.

    Not sure if the option was correct but seem to think line out on half way was, just looking for feedback.

    Cheers,

    Andy.
    Lancsbarts - I assume from your description ball didnt reach the 10m line at all...so apply 12.6 (2018 law book)
    "The ball must reach the 10-metre line. Sanction: The non-kicking team has the option of the kick being retaken or a scrum"
    Tell em it's Law 23 and smile

  6. #6
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    28 Oct 16
    Posts
    7
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default Re: Re start not 10 and into touch

    Thanks all. Looks like the overriding factor is that as the ball didn't cross the 10m line, that is the failing by the kicking team, so option of re kick or scrum on halfway, regardless of the ball going into touch.

  7. #7
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cambridge and St Neots
    Grade
    I am a Fan
    Join Date
    08 Mar 11
    Posts
    1,357
    Thanks (Received)
    21
    Likes (Received)
    212

    Default Re: Re start not 10 and into touch

    There used to be verbiage about playing on if the non-kicking team played the ball first.
    This has gone in the rewrite.
    Does this mean you cannot play on even if the non-licking team gains an advantage.

    Also it seems odd that the non-kicking team are not offered the option of accepting the kick, i.e. taking the line out.

  8. #8

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,841
    Thanks (Received)
    152
    Likes (Received)
    1247
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Re start not 10 and into touch

    Quote Originally Posted by Camquin View Post
    There used to be verbiage about playing on if the non-kicking team played the ball first.
    This has gone in the rewrite.
    No, it is still there. Second half of this sentence.

    Law 12.7
    If the ball reaches the 10-metre line but is then blown back or if an opponent plays the ball before it reaches the 10-metre line, play continues.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  9. #9

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,591
    Thanks (Received)
    60
    Likes (Received)
    903

    Default Re: Re start not 10 and into touch

    something I'd never realsied...

    If the ball does not go 10m and enters touch

    - kick again or scrum if it bounces
    - kick agaiun, scrum or lineout of its on the full.

    never coitoned onto that before although "I knew" it if that makes sense.

    what doesn't make any sense if the difference between bouncing and on the full! Its still gone < 10m

    (and yes, I appreciate that on the full could have gone 49.9m !)

    didds

    didds

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •