Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 25 of 25

Thread: Can you take a QTI after KO into touch

      
  1. #21

    Referees in England
    Balones's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leics
    Grade
    NP Performance Reviewer
    Join Date
    24 Oct 06
    Posts
    657
    Thanks (Received)
    29
    Likes (Received)
    160

    Default Re: Can you take a QTI after KO into touch

    Quote Originally Posted by Camquin View Post
    That would be it.
    No I was in the stand - actually next to the Loughborough cameras - after having lunch with my mother and daughter.
    Which meant I was not able to ask the AR for clarification, which I would have done had I been in my usual place on the touch line.
    I thought he also called students back, but as i say it was a good lunch and it might have clouded my recall.

    So are we saying only offer options if the ball goes directly into touch from the knock on / throw forward?
    Just to note, the laws do not mention an option for a forward pass into touch in the 2018 version. The 2017 version did.

    In the Cambridge match in the 41st minute the L player passed forward and C tried a quick throw in after the ball had gone into touch. In this case the passed ball hit the receiving L player before it went into touch so again not 'directly'.
    Last edited by Balones; 02-01-19 at 16:01.

  2. #22

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,536
    Thanks (Received)
    126
    Likes (Received)
    1597

    Default Re: Can you take a QTI after KO into touch

    Quote Originally Posted by Balones View Post
    Just to note, the laws do not mention an option for a forward pass into touch in the 2018 version. The 2017 version did.

    .
    from 18.8.f it's possible to infer that the lineout option must exist. But QTI ?

  3. #23

    Referees in England
    Balones's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leics
    Grade
    NP Performance Reviewer
    Join Date
    24 Oct 06
    Posts
    657
    Thanks (Received)
    29
    Likes (Received)
    160

    Default Re: Can you take a QTI after KO into touch

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    from 18.8.f it's possible to infer that the lineout option must exist. But QTI ?
    Yes. Forgot to jump about. So why mention it in one relevant section I.e knock-on, and not in the firward pass section. Messy.

  4. #24

    Referees in England
    Balones's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leics
    Grade
    NP Performance Reviewer
    Join Date
    24 Oct 06
    Posts
    657
    Thanks (Received)
    29
    Likes (Received)
    160

    Default Re: Can you take a QTI after KO into touch

    It is now mentioned as a option under11.6 in the 2019 version. It takes up a couple of lines so this could be the source of the extra two pages that PhilE had noticed. I.e. actually making sanctions/options explicit.

  5. #25

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,536
    Thanks (Received)
    126
    Likes (Received)
    1597

    Default Re: Can you take a QTI after KO into touch

    Quote Originally Posted by Balones View Post
    It is now mentioned as a option under11.6 in the 2019 version. It takes up a couple of lines so this could be the source of the extra two pages that PhilE had noticed. I.e. actually making sanctions/options explicit.
    OK, I can see what they did

    2018 version 1 (Jan 2018)

    KNOCK-ON
    1. A knock- on may occur anywhere in the playing area.

    2. It is a knock-on when a player, in tackling or attempting to tackle an opponent, makes
    contact with the ball and the ball goes forward. Sanction: Scrum


    2018 Version 2 (Sept 2018)
    KNOCK-ON
    1. A knock- on may occur anywhere in the playing area.

    2. It is a knock-on when a player, in tackling or attempting to tackle an opponent, makes
    contact with the ball and the ball goes forward. Sanction : Scrum (if the ball goes into
    touch, the non-offending team may opt instead for a quick-throw or lineout)
    .


    2019 Laws - Same as 2018 v2
    KNOCK-ON
    1. A knock- on may occur anywhere in the playing area.

    2. It is a knock-on when a player, in tackling or attempting to tackle an opponent, makes
    contact with the ball and the ball goes forward. Sanction : Scrum (if the ball goes into
    touch, the non-offending team may opt instead for a quick-throw or lineout)
    .


    Gosh, they are making hard work of this

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •