Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25

Thread: Can you take a QTI after KO into touch

      
  1. #11

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,407
    Thanks (Received)
    136
    Likes (Received)
    1682

    Default Re: Can you take a QTI after KO into touch

    The Law Book isn't very well laid out
    I think the sanction under 11.2 is supposed to apply to 11.1 as we

    KNOCK-ON


    A knock-*on may occur anywhere in the playing area.

    It is a knock-on when a player, in tackling or attempting to tackle an opponent, makes contact with the ball and the ball goes forward. Sanction: Scrum (if the ball goes into touch, the non-offending team may opt instead for a quick-throw or lineout)
    .

  2. #12

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,322
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1290

    Default Re: Can you take a QTI after KO into touch

    Quote Originally Posted by Camquin View Post
    I meant knock-on.
    I was thinking of a specific incident where a national panel ref did not permit it, though not on camera.
    Difficult to comment without having seen it. Possible that ball was touched after KO but before going into touch or touched by AR, etc. Did he give the options or just go with scrum?
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  3. #13
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cambridge and St Neots
    Grade
    I am a Fan
    Join Date
    08 Mar 11
    Posts
    1,357
    Thanks (Received)
    21
    Likes (Received)
    212

    Default Re: Can you take a QTI after KO into touch

    Balones yes.
    I seem to recall both sides tried it and both were told to come back for the set piece.

  4. #14

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,910
    Thanks (Received)
    34
    Likes (Received)
    334

    Default Re: Can you take a QTI after KO into touch

    As I understand it, if a LO is a possibility the QTI is ALWAYS an option unless it is ruled out by one of about 7 possible incidents eg ball touched, different ball etc.

  5. #15

    Referees in England
    Balones's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leics
    Grade
    NP Performance Reviewer
    Join Date
    24 Oct 06
    Posts
    717
    Thanks (Received)
    30
    Likes (Received)
    184

    Default Re: Can you take a QTI after KO into touch

    Quote Originally Posted by Camquin View Post
    Balones yes.
    I seem to recall both sides tried it and both were told to come back for the set piece.
    I have managed to have a look at the home club video. (One of the privileges of NP PR status.) The sound on it is not present for some of it and some of the camerawork is a bit dodgy. However, the only two possible incidents of what you are mentioning are: –
    1 - About midway through the first half the Loughborough winger knocks on but before the ball goes into touch the ball gets tangled up in his legs so does not go directly into touch. The ref is heard to say “Option. Okay no option then”, which seems to indicate that the AR had told him the situation.
    2 – The second one, again about half way through the second half involves the Loughborough No8 making a break and offloading to the L No12 who flicks the ball back towards the winger. (No14) The L14 tries to gather the ball but he is tackled and he loses control of the ball and the ball goes backwards into touch. Cambridge try a quick throw in but the referee deems there to have been an initial knock-on in the attempt to gather by the L14 before it goes into touch. At this stage there is no sound on the video. I must admit that I cannot see this knock-on but then the action is on the far side of the pitch from the camera. Because the ball went backwards before going into touch obviously there is no option. Even if it had been deemed a ‘touch’ the quick throw in would not have been allowed because the C player took the quick throw in further up the pitch than the line of touch and the AR signalled this fact by raising his flag for a second time. The AR was seen to turn round and speak to a spectator and say something. This wasn’t you was it?

    These are the only possible incidents that I can see in this particular match. All the others were lineouts from penalties or kicks. I hope this explains the situation to your satisfaction.

  6. #16
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cambridge and St Neots
    Grade
    I am a Fan
    Join Date
    08 Mar 11
    Posts
    1,357
    Thanks (Received)
    21
    Likes (Received)
    212

    Default Re: Can you take a QTI after KO into touch

    That would be it.
    No I was in the stand - actually next to the Loughborough cameras - after having lunch with my mother and daughter.
    Which meant I was not able to ask the AR for clarification, which I would have done had I been in my usual place on the touch line.
    I thought he also called students back, but as i say it was a good lunch and it might have clouded my recall.

    So are we saying only offer options if the ball goes directly into touch from the knock on / throw forward?

  7. #17

    Referees in England
    Balones's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leics
    Grade
    NP Performance Reviewer
    Join Date
    24 Oct 06
    Posts
    717
    Thanks (Received)
    30
    Likes (Received)
    184

    Default Re: Can you take a QTI after KO into touch

    Quote Originally Posted by Camquin View Post
    That would be it.
    No I was in the stand - actually next to the Loughborough cameras - after having lunch with my mother and daughter.
    Which meant I was not able to ask the AR for clarification, which I would have done had I been in my usual place on the touch line.
    I thought he also called students back, but as i say it was a good lunch and it might have clouded my recall.

    So are we saying only offer options if the ball goes directly into touch from the knock on / throw forward?
    Yes that is the case.

  8. #18

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,322
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1290

    Default Re: Can you take a QTI after KO into touch

    Quote Originally Posted by Camquin View Post

    So are we saying only offer options if the ball goes directly into touch from the knock on / throw forward?
    We have to be careful here because the word 'directly' now has a special meaning ie 'directly' = on the full.

    So if there is a knock on, then no other contact with any person before the ball goes into touch, then offer options.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  9. #19

    Referees in Scotland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    20 Dec 17
    Posts
    436
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    103

    Default Re: Can you take a QTI after KO into touch

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    We have to be careful here because the word 'directly' now has a special meaning ie 'directly' = on the full.

    So if there is a knock on, then no other contact with any person before the ball goes into touch, then offer options.
    where does it state directly means on the full (for this instance). If the ball bounces I always understood options were still available (but not if another player touched the ball).

  10. #20

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,322
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1290

    Default Re: Can you take a QTI after KO into touch

    Quote Originally Posted by Zebra1922 View Post
    where does it state directly means on the full (for this instance).
    Law 18 is littered with instances of the word 'directly' meaning on the full


    Quote Originally Posted by Zebra1922 View Post
    If the ball bounces I always understood options were still available (but not if another player touched the ball).
    Yes. Law 11.2 doesn't use the word 'directly':

    2. It is a knock-on when a player, in tackling or attempting to tackle an opponent, makes contact with the ball and the ball goes forward. Sanction: Scrum (if the ball goes into touch, the non-offending team may opt instead for a quick-throw or lineout).
    Last edited by Dickie E; 26-12-18 at 02:12.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •