Page 17 of 17 FirstFirst ... 71314151617
Results 161 to 165 of 165

Thread: Inadvertent touch down

      
  1. #161

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,364
    Thanks (Received)
    101
    Likes (Received)
    1465

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    Here is Phil E's description of what happened, Do you accept it as accurate?

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil E View Post
    That's not quite how it happened.
    He dived on the loose ball short of the goal line and slid into in-goal.
    As he slid over the line he was half on his side and the ball was off the ground.
    He then turned onto his front to get to his feet, and in doing so he clearly placed the ball onto the ground (still in his possession).
    At that point the ball was dead.
    It equates to

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    - he goes to ground to pick the ball up, gets possession, crosses the goal line carrying the ball, and touches the ground with ball (21.1.a in fact) then having done that he gets up, but it's too late.
    (The reason why he goes to ground is irrelevant).
    If we don't agree on the facts then we are just spinning our wheels.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  2. #162

    Referees in Scotland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    20 Dec 17
    Posts
    400
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    89

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    Ah but some people once entrenched will never retreat, regardless of the evidence put in front of them.

    It's very clear to me, if it was an attacker you would have awarded a try, as a defender you have carried the ball over the line whilst it is in contact with the ground, thereby grounding the ball, scrum 5m, attacking ball.

    IF the ball was not on the ground prior to crossing the DBL and the player dropped it and then picked it up, I agree not a grounding, but that is clearly not the scenario here. I think everyone agrees picking up a ball is not grounding it, but the player here did not simply pick up a ball. He picked it up AFTER it had already been grounded during the carrying back over the DBL.

  3. #163
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    625
    Thanks (Received)
    13
    Likes (Received)
    109

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    [QUOTE=BikingBud;353698

    Shall we dig up some more horses for you to flog? See if we can get Shergar or Red Rum?[/QUOTE]

    Is Shergar dead?

  4. #164

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,097
    Thanks (Received)
    100
    Likes (Received)
    1208

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    Quote Originally Posted by Decorily View Post
    Is Shergar dead?
    I didn't even know he was sick
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  5. #165

    Referees in England
    Chris_j's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    NLD
    Grade
    Level 7
    Join Date
    11 May 12
    Posts
    82
    Thanks (Received)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    26

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    Q: Who can pick a ball up
    A: A player on his feet

    A player off his/her feet can gather the ball then get up, but can not pick it up. If you are off your feet in in-goal I suggest you cannot pick up the ball before getting to your feet. If whilst off your feet you ground the ball then the ball is dead.
    Chris Johnson

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •