Page 6 of 17 FirstFirst ... 234567891016 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 165

Thread: Inadvertent touch down

      
  1. #51

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,455
    Thanks (Received)
    136
    Likes (Received)
    1691

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post

    Imagine an attacker is not diving and he's upright when he is tap tackled 3m from the line.
    -- he hits the ground heavily, it's a wet day, and he can't help sliding into the in goal..
    -- all in the same movement he gets straight back to his feet and runs over to score under the posts.

    wouldn't it be somewhat jobsworth to say "sorry mate, the ball touched the ground and you inadvertently scored in the corner" ?
    In this scenario I would let him score under the posts

    Other scenarios might be different, obviously

  2. #52
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    02 Nov 18
    Posts
    406
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    38

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    We keep talking about expecting. If White 9 was an attacking player then I'd expect his intention would be to score the try. Especially as he would've been under pressure from defending players. I suppose this is one of these situations that is open to interpretation. The Law doesn't mention anything about this particular senario. So I guess you've got to interpret the Law and apply it for both attacking and defensive players.

    I would go with if the sliding attacker slides and remains there, blow for a try. If he slides over and the ball has touched the in-goal ground and he gets up and leaves the ball/starts celebrating, blow award the try. If he gets back up, immediately (like tackle not held) allow the play on for a better scoring position. If he runs with the ball and dives/gets tackled and momentum carries him over then I blow and award the try.

  3. #53

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,519
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1535

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    Quote Originally Posted by Arabcheif View Post
    If he gets back up, immediately (like tackle not held) allow the play on for a better scoring position.
    In the post match debrief I would suggest you were wrong.
    21.3 An attacking player grounding the ball in in-goal scores a try.


    The ball is then dead. No mention of intent nor any need to infer it.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  4. #54
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    02 Nov 18
    Posts
    406
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    38

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    OB - I'm trying to think of a counter argument but, I've got nothing lmao. Was gonna come back with 21.2 but that only refers to a ball thats in-goal already. A player sliding over the 22m line then kicking for touch would be classed as carried over too (I would guess).

  5. #55

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,455
    Thanks (Received)
    136
    Likes (Received)
    1691

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    Quote Originally Posted by OB.. View Post
    In the post match debrief I would suggest you were wrong.
    21.3 An attacking player grounding the ball in in-goal scores a try.


    The ball is then dead. No mention of intent nor any need to infer it.
    What about #51 is that a try in the corner ?

  6. #56

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,519
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1535

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    What about #51 is that a try in the corner ?
    Yes if he grounded the ball when sliding.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  7. #57

    Referees in New Zealand
    Ian_Cook's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired player and referee
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    12 Jul 05
    Posts
    13,270
    Thanks (Received)
    110
    Likes (Received)
    1484

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    There are two, and only two things to consider, and it does not matter at which end of the field this happens.

    1. If the ball was in the possession of a player, did the ball touch the ground?

    2. If the ball was not in the possession of a player, did a player put downward pressure on the ball?

    If either of the above is true, the ball is grounded (and therefore its dead)

    The intent of the player does not come into consideration, so yes, #51 is a try in the corner.
    "Never underestimate the power of the Internet to lend unwarranted credibility to the colossally misinformed"
    - Jay "Utah" Windley

  8. #58

    Referees in Australia
    Drift's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    06 Jan 10
    Posts
    1,816
    Thanks (Received)
    14
    Likes (Received)
    82

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    I honestly don't understand how this has gone on for as long as it has, sometimes the easiest answer is the right one. The ball was grounded by the defender, 5m scrum.

    If there was a tackle close to the goal line and the player placed the ball back for his scrum half but actually placed the ball in-goal what's the decision? It's grounded in-goal by a defender and therefore 5m scrum.

  9. #59

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,455
    Thanks (Received)
    136
    Likes (Received)
    1691

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    Quote Originally Posted by Drift View Post
    .

    If there was a tackle close to the goal line and the player placed the ball back for his scrum half but actually placed the ball in-goal what's the decision? It's grounded in-goal by a defender and therefore 5m scrum.
    Great scenario ..

    Different from the others as in that instance he is deliberately placing the ball on the ground , but doesn't realise it's over the line

    Whereas in the Northampton scenario the defender knows he is in goal and is visibly trying hard NOT to ground it

  10. #60

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,455
    Thanks (Received)
    136
    Likes (Received)
    1691

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    Quote Originally Posted by Ian_Cook View Post
    There are two, and only two things to consider, and it does not matter at which end of the field this happens.

    1. If the ball was in the possession of a player, did the ball touch the ground?

    2. If the ball was not in the possession of a player, did a player put downward pressure on the ball?.
    You also have to consider

    3 was the touch , or the downward pressure actually committed in the process of picking the ball up? If so it's NOT a grounding .


    We might also reflect that we just saw a game where a professional ref and his TMO evidently believe that intent DOES cone into it .. as they played on and didn't give the touchdown.

    (If there had been a slightest suspicion that the ball touches a the touchline , they would have TMO it.. but they didn't care whether it had touched the in goal)
    Last edited by crossref; 09-01-19 at 00:01.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •