Page 4 of 17 FirstFirst 1234567814 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 165

Thread: Inadvertent touch down

      
  1. #31
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    696
    Thanks (Received)
    10
    Likes (Received)
    147

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    Quote Originally Posted by Zebra1922 View Post
    Key question - if it was an attacking player would you award a try? If the answer is yes then this must be a 5m scrum, attacking ball. Otherwise you have inconsistent treatment of the same scenario between attackers and defenders.
    if he slid in and stayed put then yes, because what he wants, his intent, is to ground the ball and score the try.

  2. #32

    Referees in New Zealand
    Ian_Cook's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired player and referee
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    12 Jul 05
    Posts
    13,181
    Thanks (Received)
    101
    Likes (Received)
    1416

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    For a ball in a player's possession, the player only has to touch the ground in-goal with the ball for it to be grounded, but for a loose ball/ball not in a player's possession, there has to be downwards pressure.

    Was the player "in possession"? If not, was there downwards pressure?

    Caveat: I haven't seen any video of the incident.
    "Never underestimate the power of the Internet to lend unwarranted credibility to the colossally misinformed"
    - Jay "Utah" Windley

  3. #33

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,825
    Thanks (Received)
    127
    Likes (Received)
    1615

    Default Re: Intention to ground the ball Wasps vs Saints

    for anyone who hasn't seen it yet
    https://www.premiershiprugby.com/vid...ints-round-12/

    from 2:50 on the video..

  4. #34

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,825
    Thanks (Received)
    127
    Likes (Received)
    1615

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    It's here from 2:50

    https://www.premiershiprugby.com/vid...ints-round-12/

    MODS - perhaps you could merge the two threads on this ??

  5. #35
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    696
    Thanks (Received)
    10
    Likes (Received)
    147

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    Just rewatched, forgot, he had two opportunities to ground that ball without doubt if he wanted to, both times he chose to play it out, still a try for me

  6. #36

    Referees in Scotland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    20 Dec 17
    Posts
    417
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    91

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    I still don’t see why we treat a defensive slide with the ball into the in goal different to an attacking one. For those saying he didn’t ground it, do you expect and attacking player who slaides into the i goal with the ball in his possession and in control text with the ground to actively lift it and replace it down before you award a try? If no, then why treat the defender differently?

  7. #37
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    637
    Thanks (Received)
    14
    Likes (Received)
    112

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    Quote Originally Posted by Zebra1922 View Post
    ...For those saying he didn’t ground it, do you expect and attacking player who slaides into the i goal with the ball in his possession and in control text with the ground to actively lift it and replace it down before you award a try? If no, then why treat the defender differently?
    Well I certainly wouldn't "expect " them to lift it and replace it and I doubt any referee would expect it.....but I suppose another way of looking at it is would you 'allow' them to do it?
    I certainly would.

  8. #38
    Rugby Club Member oliver's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    08 Oct 16
    Posts
    39
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    6

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    Quote Originally Posted by Zebra1922 View Post
    I still don’t see why we treat a defensive slide with the ball into the in goal different to an attacking one. For those saying he didn’t ground it, do you expect and attacking player who slaides into the i goal with the ball in his possession and in control text with the ground to actively lift it and replace it down before you award a try? If no, then why treat the defender differently?
    If an attacker slid in like that but then seeing the defenders aren't around got up and tried to run under the posts but was then tackled/dispossessed would people award a try?

  9. #39
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    637
    Thanks (Received)
    14
    Likes (Received)
    112

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    No. I wouldn't.

  10. #40

    Referees in Scotland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    20 Dec 17
    Posts
    417
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    91

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    How about if he didn’t get up and try to get nearer the posts but just stayed where he was, with no new movement to actively reground the ball. Try then?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •