Page 5 of 17 FirstFirst 12345678915 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 165

Thread: Inadvertent touch down

      
  1. #41
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    656
    Thanks (Received)
    15
    Likes (Received)
    116

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    I'll bite...... of course!

  2. #42
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    715
    Thanks (Received)
    10
    Likes (Received)
    151

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    Yes, because his intent is to ground the ball and score, else we would have picked the ball up and tried for a better spot (which he’s allowed to do). However if you do that it negates the original ‘grounding’

  3. #43
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Rugby Nederland
    Grade
    WR level 2
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    1,094
    Thanks (Received)
    16
    Likes (Received)
    292

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    Quote Originally Posted by Zebra1922 View Post
    How about if he didn’t get up and try to get nearer the posts but just stayed where he was, with no new movement to actively reground the ball. Try then?
    Yes. Empathy, he clearly wants the try there. Which is also why I'd say play on if he wants to play on... assuming I hadn't blown my whistle straight away.

  4. #44

    Referees in Scotland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    20 Dec 17
    Posts
    427
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    93

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    Hold on, how we're saying intent it involved in the grounding decision. So if he did not intend to get up it was grounded, but if he did intend to get up and move towards the post, it was not grounded?

    Am I the only one who thinks this is an illogical interpretation to try and support the argument the defender is treated differently to the attacker?

    What if I think he was going to get up but decided against it, he leaves the ball and a defender grounds it. No intent to ground from the attacker, now a 22DO? That can't be right so for me in both instances this is grounding in goal, either a try or a scrum 5 attacking ball.

  5. #45

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,967
    Thanks (Received)
    131
    Likes (Received)
    1626

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    What if a player running in the in goal (whether defender or attacker) holding the ball, slips, loses his footing, falls over and bounces straight back up again, and continues his run

    Would you still blow your whistle and award an unintended touch down ?
    Last edited by crossref; 08-01-19 at 00:01.

  6. #46

    Referees in America
    Rank Bajin!
    SimonSmith's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Virginia (USA)
    Grade
    B3
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    8,332
    Thanks (Received)
    48
    Likes (Received)
    710

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    Yes I would.
    The object of life is not to be on the side of the majority, but to escape finding oneself in the ranks of the insane.
    Marcus Aurelius

    Man may do as he will; he may not will what he wills
    Arthur Schopenhauer

    Tullamore Dew, the Afghan Wigs, and many, many strippers - how to get over your ex. How true.

  7. #47

    Referees in New Zealand
    Ian_Cook's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired player and referee
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    12 Jul 05
    Posts
    13,195
    Thanks (Received)
    104
    Likes (Received)
    1422

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post

    OK, now that I've seen it... taken into in-goal by White 9 and grounded.

    5m Scrum - Gold to throw in.

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    MODS - perhaps you could merge the two threads on this ??
    Done
    Last edited by Ian_Cook; 08-01-19 at 06:01. Reason: Thread merge
    "Never underestimate the power of the Internet to lend unwarranted credibility to the colossally misinformed"
    - Jay "Utah" Windley

  8. #48
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    715
    Thanks (Received)
    10
    Likes (Received)
    151

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    Does 21.2 not apply, which seems to be the intention from the players choice to get up with the ball?;



    • Picking up a ball is not grounding it. A player may pick up the ball in in-goal and ground it elsewhere in in-goal

  9. #49

    Referees in Scotland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    20 Dec 17
    Posts
    427
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    93

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    Quote Originally Posted by Flish View Post
    Yes, because his intent is to ground the ball and score, else we would have picked the ball up and tried for a better spot (which he’s allowed to do). However if you do that it negates the original ‘grounding’
    But that means you’re saying the ball has already been grounded, yet you’re allowed to do this (law ref please).

    We’re not talking about picking up an isolated ball, which we all agree is not grounding, but picking up a ball which has been grounded through the action of sliding over the in goal line whilst they ball is in simultaneous contact with the ground and arm/upper body.

  10. #50

    Referees in New Zealand
    Ian_Cook's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired player and referee
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    12 Jul 05
    Posts
    13,195
    Thanks (Received)
    104
    Likes (Received)
    1422

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    White 9 went to ground to gather the ball to take possession of it (Law 13) about 2m into the FoP.

    He slid across the ground into in-goal while holding the ball, and with the ball clearly in contact with the ground from the time he fell on it until he crossed the chalk.

    Therefore, the ball was grounded at that point, and was dead - peep scrum 5, Gold ball.



    Look at the photograph above

    1. Would you award a try if White 9 was an attacking player sliding like that into his opponent's in-goal? Of course you would!

    2. If White 9 subsequently stood up with the ball and ran around under the posts, would you award the try under the posts? Of course you wouldn't; you would award it where the ball was first grounded.
    "Never underestimate the power of the Internet to lend unwarranted credibility to the colossally misinformed"
    - Jay "Utah" Windley

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •