Page 7 of 17 FirstFirst ... 34567891011 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 70 of 165

Thread: Inadvertent touch down

      
  1. #61

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    11,959
    Thanks (Received)
    94
    Likes (Received)
    1172

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post

    (If there had been a slightest suspicion that the ball touches a the touchline , they would have TMO it.. but they didn't care whether it had touched the in goal)
    that would be an interesting question to ask the ref
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  2. #62
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    563
    Thanks (Received)
    8
    Likes (Received)
    112

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    (If there had been a slightest suspicion that the ball touches a the touchline , they would have TMO it.. but they didn't care whether it had touched the in goal)
    Didn't care, or all in agreement that it wasn't relevant - certainly from my recollection there was no conversation about it, TMO could have chipped in he wanted, the only question was on grounding by Wasps between Ref and AR

    Equally, players, managers (I think, was there any post match comment?) weren't concerned, only Austin Healy (which doesn't add much weight to the argument!)

  3. #63

    Referees in Scotland
    Pinky's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Edinburgh Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    09 Apr 10
    Posts
    1,346
    Thanks (Received)
    13
    Likes (Received)
    141

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    Flats asked why it wasn't reviewed, and wondered why Saints didn't ask for it to be adjudged a touch down, but it was obvious that initially the Saints player did not consider he had touched it down as he off loaded to a fellow player and they ran it out of in-goal. Had that been successful then all would have been happy, but a further unload to Wasps 15 led to the try. Now to unpick that, it would have been a bit off if having passed the ball three times, Saints then claimed it had been touched down.

  4. #64

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,226
    Thanks (Received)
    122
    Likes (Received)
    1558

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    All the players , and the ref, played on.
    So in their minds no one seemed to think you can have an accidental 5m scrum ..

    Again, if there had been a possibility of ball in touch, you can bet that everyone would have expected a TMO review

  5. #65
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Quebec Society of Rugby Referees
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    16 Feb 12
    Posts
    274
    Thanks (Received)
    5
    Likes (Received)
    16

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    Quote Originally Posted by Drift View Post
    I honestly don't understand how this has gone on for as long as it has, sometimes the easiest answer is the right one. The ball was grounded by the defender, 5m scrum.

    If there was a tackle close to the goal line and the player placed the ball back for his scrum half but actually placed the ball in-goal what's the decision? It's grounded in-goal by a defender and therefore 5m scrum.
    I had something similar occur earlier this year. A defending player jackalled a ball that was just short of his try line. He turned to his own side and placed the ball on the ground, in-goal, for his 9 to play it away. I blew for an attacking 5m scrum.

  6. #66

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,226
    Thanks (Received)
    122
    Likes (Received)
    1558

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    What was the reaction of the players?

  7. #67
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Quebec Society of Rugby Referees
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    16 Feb 12
    Posts
    274
    Thanks (Received)
    5
    Likes (Received)
    16

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    Some of the attacking forwards recognised what he did right away. The defending player and his 9 asked why I blew it up, and when I explained it and pointed to where he had grounded the ball, it clicked that he had grounded it in goal. That ended the discussion.

  8. #68

    ELRA/Club Referee


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    08 Nov 18
    Posts
    55
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    16

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    Here we are 7 pages into the discussion. At the weekend, it'll happen right in front of us and we make a decision on the spot. I suspect 99.9% of us would rule that the defending player took the ball into the in goal area and grounded it. As a result not one voice in dissent would be heard and we'd move on. It probably wont even be the most contentious decision we make all game.

  9. #69

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,226
    Thanks (Received)
    122
    Likes (Received)
    1558

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    It's a strange one, I don't think you would get much dissent either way.
    NB on the TV game we saw all the players , and the ref, all playing on ..

  10. #70

    Referees in Scotland
    Pinky's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Edinburgh Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    09 Apr 10
    Posts
    1,346
    Thanks (Received)
    13
    Likes (Received)
    141

    Default Re: Inadvertent touch down

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    It's a strange one, I don't think you would get much dissent either way.
    NB on the TV game we saw all the players , and the ref, all playing on ..
    Had Saints offloads worked and they ran up the pitch and scored, the would probably have been a bit peeved to have been brought back for the scrum! A senior referee said intend was relevant as in that case it was obvious Saints wanted to play on. Had they wanted the grounding, the player would not have popped it up, and just made clear it was grounded.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •