Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Ball over plane of touch but blown back in

      
  1. #1

    Referees in Ireland


    Soc/Assoc
    ARLB
    Grade
    New/Ungraded
    Join Date
    11 Sep 06
    Posts
    303
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default Ball over plane of touch but blown back in

    It's a windy day. The ball is kicked over the plane of touch, doesn't touch anything and is then blown back in. Is it in touch?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    735
    Thanks (Received)
    12
    Likes (Received)
    158

    Default Re: Ball over plane of touch but blown back in

    No, I think, in law, and practically speaking as chances are I couldn’t be that precise anyway!

  3. #3
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    716
    Thanks (Received)
    16
    Likes (Received)
    133

    Default Re: Ball over plane of touch but blown back in

    Quote Originally Posted by breako View Post
    It's a windy day. The ball is kicked over the plane of touch, doesn't touch anything and is then blown back in. Is it in touch?

    Thanks
    No...play on.

    If you are TJing or ARing don't get caught by sticking the flag up too soon! !

  4. #4

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,910
    Thanks (Received)
    34
    Likes (Received)
    334

    Default Re: Ball over plane of touch but blown back in

    Quote Originally Posted by breako View Post
    It's a windy day. The ball is kicked over the plane of touch, doesn't touch anything and is then blown back in. Is it in touch?
    No. The ball isn't in touch until

    • If it is being carried, the ball carrier touches the touch line or the ground beyond it or
    • If it is loose, it touches the touch line or the ground beyond it.

  5. #5

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,554
    Thanks (Received)
    59
    Likes (Received)
    895

    Default Re: Ball over plane of touch but blown back in

    Quote Originally Posted by breako View Post
    It's a windy day. The ball is kicked over the plane of touch, doesn't touch anything and is then blown back in. Is it in touch?

    Thanks
    Nope. Play on.

    didds

  6. #6

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,809
    Thanks (Received)
    142
    Likes (Received)
    1226
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Ball over plane of touch but blown back in

    As someone who has fallen foul of this I can definitely say "don't blow your whistle until the ball touches something in touch!".

    I once blew for touch after a ball kicked into touch from a penalty went about 30 yards over the line, over the heads of all the spectators.
    Only to see it get caught by a gust of wind just as I blew, and bend back into play where it was caught by a defender. Half the players played on, half stopped.

    Never did that again!

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  7. #7
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cardiff Society of Welsh Rugby Union Referees
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    05 Jan 18
    Posts
    1,296
    Thanks (Received)
    17
    Likes (Received)
    262

    Default Re: Ball over plane of touch but blown back in

    Me too!

  8. #8
    Moderator Attention - New Usergroup Required

    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    5
    Join Date
    22 Dec 15
    Posts
    224
    Thanks (Received)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    82

    Default Re: Ball over plane of touch but blown back in

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil E View Post
    As someone who has fallen foul of this I can definitely say "don't blow your whistle until the ball touches something in touch!".

    I once blew for touch after a ball kicked into touch from a penalty went about 30 yards over the line, over the heads of all the spectators.
    Only to see it get caught by a gust of wind just as I blew, and bend back into play where it was caught by a defender. Half the players played on, half stopped.

    Never did that again!
    Restart scrum to the catcher's team?

  9. #9

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,809
    Thanks (Received)
    142
    Likes (Received)
    1226
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Ball over plane of touch but blown back in

    Quote Originally Posted by Thunderhorse1986 View Post
    Restart scrum to the catcher's team?
    I tried to call play on, some did, some didn't. It was carnage for a few seconds.

    On reflection I should have blown up, apologised and let them kick the penalty to touch again.

    Big learning point.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •