Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 31

Thread: unsuccessful maul restart

      
  1. #21
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    ELRA
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    270
    Thanks (Received)
    14
    Likes (Received)
    76

    Default Re: unsuccessful maul restart

    Back when I was coaching juniors, I used to explain the various "unsuccessful maul from a kick" scenarios as "If the kicking team had to kick the ball, then they get the put in. If they chose to kick the ball, the receiving team get the put in".

    That now doesn't work in the scenario of a penalty kick. They had a choice whether to kick or tap. But they still get the put in if they choose to kick and it results in an unsuccessful maul.

    That's annoying.....

  2. #22

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,298
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1276

    Default Re: unsuccessful maul restart

    [editorial]

    if I was king of rugby, I'd dump "use it or lose it" for ALL kicks as it adds no value

    [end of editorial]
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  3. #23

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,298
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1276

    Default Re: unsuccessful maul restart

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post

    It's clear that catches from any of a kick-off, restart kick, free-kick or penalty are all the same - if the result is a failed maul, the catching team get the put in.

    You've got that the wrong way round. Kicking team get the put in.

    I've had confirmation from ARU that we are doing the same.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  4. #24

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,093
    Thanks (Received)
    135
    Likes (Received)
    1647

    Default Re: unsuccessful maul restart

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    You've got that the wrong way round. Kicking team get the put in.

    I've had confirmation from ARU that we are doing the same.
    Catching team, ie no turnover.
    What does your guidance say ,exactly ?

  5. #25

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,298
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1276

    Default Re: unsuccessful maul restart

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Catching team, ie no turnover.
    What does your guidance say ,exactly ?
    In essence, it is scrum feed to team not taking ball into maul in all cases except where they receive ball direct from a kick in general play
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  6. #26

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,093
    Thanks (Received)
    135
    Likes (Received)
    1647

    Default Re: unsuccessful maul restart

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    In essence, it is scrum feed to team not taking ball into maul in all cases except where they receive ball direct from a kick in general play
    Correct

  7. #27

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,093
    Thanks (Received)
    135
    Likes (Received)
    1647

    Default Re: unsuccessful maul restart

    Perhaps I should add to my table all instances where people have checked with their union "it's 2019 should we ref to the 2019 Law Book or the 2017 one " and have received the answer "the 2019 one "

  8. #28
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cardiff Society of Welsh Rugby Union Referees
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    05 Jan 18
    Posts
    1,284
    Thanks (Received)
    17
    Likes (Received)
    259

    Default Re: unsuccessful maul restart

    Odd post 59, nothing to do with this thread.

  9. #29

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,298
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1276

    Default Re: unsuccessful maul restart

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    In essence, it is scrum feed to team not taking ball into maul in all cases except where they receive ball direct from an opponent's kick in general play
    corrected
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  10. #30

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,298
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1276

    Default Re: unsuccessful maul restart

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    It's clear that catches from any of a kick-off, restart kick, free-kick or penalty are all the same - if the result is a failed maul, the catching team get the put in.

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Catching team, ie no turnover.
    No. Catching team only get the feed if kick was in open play!

    From your table:
    So catch from PK is now the same as a catch from a restart kick and from a droput kick -- and the kicking team would get the scrum, for unplayable maul
    Last edited by Dickie E; 23-01-19 at 20:01.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •