Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: quick tap taken incorrectly ... twice

      
  1. #1

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,322
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1290

    Default quick tap taken incorrectly ... twice

    I reffed a fairly high standard junior game yesterday.

    I awarded a PK and player attempted a QT but ball didn't leave his hands. I brought him back to take it again and told him what he needed to. He took it again and again ball didn't leave his hands. I awarded scrum to opposition.

    Was this the right thing to do?
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  2. #2

    Referees in America
    Not Kurt Weaver's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Ohio
    Grade
    C3
    Join Date
    11 Sep 08
    Posts
    2,018
    Thanks (Received)
    14
    Likes (Received)
    109
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: quick tap taken incorrectly ... twice

    Oh Gosh that is a good question nowadays 2019

    It sure used to be a scrum on the first attempt that didn't leave hands, but I can find it now in law.

    I dunno the answer

  3. #3
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Rugby Nederland
    Grade
    WR level 2
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    1,144
    Thanks (Received)
    18
    Likes (Received)
    306

    Default Re: quick tap taken incorrectly ... twice

    Used to be, and "nothing's changed"... right?

  4. #4

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,400
    Thanks (Received)
    136
    Likes (Received)
    1682

    Default Re: quick tap taken incorrectly ... twice

    If he taps the ball on his boot the PK hasn't been taken and the game hasn't restarted, so take it again
    There is no scrum sanction

  5. #5

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,517
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1535

    Default Re: quick tap taken incorrectly ... twice

    Definitions: Kick: An act made by intentionally hitting the ball with any part of the leg or foot, except the heel, from the toe to the knee but not including the knee. A kick must move the ball a visible distance out of the hand, or along the ground.

    20.11 The ball must be kicked a visible distance. If the kicker is holding it, it must clearly leave the hands. If it is on the ground, it must clearly leave the mark. Once the kick has been successfully taken the kicker may play the ball again.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  6. #6

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,322
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1290

    Default Re: quick tap taken incorrectly ... twice

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    If he taps the ball on his boot the PK hasn't been taken and the game hasn't restarted, so take it again
    There is no scrum sanction
    so he can keep failing to take the kick properly until we pull out the all-purpose time wasting sanction?
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  7. #7

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,517
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1535

    Default Re: quick tap taken incorrectly ... twice

    20.5 A penalty or free-kick must be taken without delay.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  8. #8

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,910
    Thanks (Received)
    34
    Likes (Received)
    334

    Default Re: quick tap taken incorrectly ... twice

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    I reffed a fairly high standard junior game yesterday.

    I awarded a PK and player attempted a QT but ball didn't leave his hands. I brought him back to take it again and told him what he needed to. He took it again and again ball didn't leave his hands. I awarded scrum to opposition.

    Was this the right thing to do?
    For what it's worth, I would have done the same as you.

    It would come across as a bit arsey to give a scrum at the first mistake (tone of the game, level of the game etc) but hell he's been given a second chance and he still managed to balls it up. In a training game, perhaps I would have been tempted to show him what I meant, but yours was a "fairly high standard" game so he should know what to do.
    Last edited by Taff; 02-02-19 at 12:02.

  9. #9

    Promises to Referee in France
    L'irlandais's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    CT Alsace-Lorraine
    Grade
    EdR + LCA
    Join Date
    11 May 10
    Posts
    4,296
    Thanks (Received)
    36
    Likes (Received)
    214

    Default Re: quick tap taken incorrectly ... twice

    I know the context is a junior game, but in (French) mini/midi/maxi rugby I would suggest to the player to place the ball on the ground, nudge it 10 cms off the spot (with his toe) and pick it back up. Though I suspect such coaching may be frowned upon at loftier levels of the game.

    Agree with Taff, if most of the players have a good skills set, then once is a mistake, twice is a lack of practice on the training ground. You have probably done him a favour Dickie, in that he will now go away and learn to quickly tap correctly.
    Last edited by L'irlandais; 02-02-19 at 13:02.
    "We demand strict proof for opinions we dislike, but are satisfied with mere hints for what we’re inclined to accept."
    John Henry Newman

  10. #10

    Referees in Australia
    menace's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    ACTRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    20 Nov 09
    Posts
    3,541
    Thanks (Received)
    59
    Likes (Received)
    482
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: quick tap taken incorrectly ... twice

    Quote Originally Posted by OB.. View Post
    Definitions: Kick: An act made by intentionally hitting the ball with any part of the leg or foot, except the heel, from the toe to the knee but not including the knee. A kick must move the ball a visible distance out of the hand, or along the ground.

    20.11 The ball must be kicked a visible distance. If the kicker is holding it, it must clearly leave the hands. If it is on the ground, it must clearly leave the mark. Once the kick has been successfully taken the kicker may play the ball again.
    But what is the sanction?
    As the current law book is silent on it...yet prior to rewrite it was clearly scrum over.

    Now nobody seems to know so we have no consistency.

    As already said..nothings changed...so I'm applying a scrum over. (And I apply it even first time from about u14/15s up (and accounting skill)..by then they should well know it's not league!)
    Tell em it's Law 23 and smile

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •