Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Two catchers

      
  1. #1

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,826
    Thanks (Received)
    127
    Likes (Received)
    1615

    Default Two catchers

    Green kick in open play

    Green and white players simultaneously jump to catch and both players get hold of the ball

    A maul immediately forms , which ends unsuccessfully

    Who puts in to the scrum ?

  2. #2

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,214
    Thanks (Received)
    103
    Likes (Received)
    1236

    Default Re: Two catchers

    Nice one, CR.

    I won't spoil the fun.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  3. #3

    Referees in America
    Not Kurt Weaver's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Ohio
    Grade
    C3
    Join Date
    11 Sep 08
    Posts
    1,973
    Thanks (Received)
    14
    Likes (Received)
    106
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Two catchers

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post

    Who puts in to the scrum ?
    Usually the #9, but any one player make take up that position

  4. #4

    Referees in Ireland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    25 May 16
    Posts
    516
    Thanks (Received)
    9
    Likes (Received)
    51

    Default Re: Two catchers

    Yes it was correct decision ..
    To answer same , there is 2 bits of law knowledge required.

  5. #5
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Rugby Nederland
    Grade
    WR level 2
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    1,067
    Thanks (Received)
    15
    Likes (Received)
    286

    Default Re: Two catchers

    So no team had possession at the start of the maul? Then the team going forward in the maul, and if that doesn't decide it, the attacking team. If it was exactly on the halfway line with no movement, I'd be inclined to say Green.

  6. #6

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,892
    Thanks (Received)
    32
    Likes (Received)
    327

    Default Re: Two catchers

    I would say the attacking side.

  7. #7

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,826
    Thanks (Received)
    127
    Likes (Received)
    1615

    Default Re: Two catchers

    So I think, the answer is white

    If green had caught it, it would be a white scrum
    If white had caught it, it would have been a white scrum

    So scrum white.

    Garces gave a scrum to attacking team, which happened to be white, so the correct result, for the wrong reason

  8. #8

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,491
    Thanks (Received)
    57
    Likes (Received)
    876

    Default Re: Two catchers

    wrong reason?

    awarded to attacking team (which is what Garces said) - which is white as the ball was in the green half?

    or is "attacking team" the incorrect call are you saying CR?

    didds

  9. #9

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,826
    Thanks (Received)
    127
    Likes (Received)
    1615

    Default Re: Two catchers

    I am saying that it didn't matter which one had caught it, as bacause it was from a kick it made no difference ..either way it's a scrum white.

  10. #10

    Referees in England
    beckett50's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    East Midlands
    Grade
    Level 6
    Join Date
    31 Jan 04
    Posts
    2,276
    Thanks (Received)
    12
    Likes (Received)
    126

    Default Re: Two catchers

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    So I think, the answer is white

    If green had caught it, it would be a white scrum
    If white had caught it, it would have been a white scrum

    So scrum white.

    Garces gave a scrum to attacking team, which happened to be white, so the correct result, for the wrong reason
    You are forgetting that a Maul formed DIRECTLY from a catch has a slightly different result if it ends Unsuccessfully
    --------------------

    https://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=691560798


    "Listen, or your tongue will make you deaf" Native American Proverb

    Vanillaisforicecream

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •