Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 31

Thread: Quiz #7 tackle in goal

      
  1. #11

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,826
    Thanks (Received)
    127
    Likes (Received)
    1615

    Default Re: Quiz #7 tackle in goal

    For clarity . The ball wasn't grounded in the tackle , it was knocked loose / lost forward from the ball carrier

  2. #12

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,491
    Thanks (Received)
    57
    Likes (Received)
    876

    Default Re: Quiz #7 tackle in goal

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    For clarity . The ball wasn't grounded in the tackle , it was knocked loose / lost forward from the ball carrier
    Then it's try.

    didds

  3. #13

    ELRA/Club Referee


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    08 Nov 18
    Posts
    85
    Thanks (Received)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    26

    Default Re: Quiz #7 tackle in goal

    I would award the try because I believe that is what would be expected and I suspect I can sell the decision more easily than explaining that as Red 7 was on the ground he was out of the game and not entitled to play the ball until he regained his feet. That said, if that scenario was replayed in the field of play and 7 gathered the ball in similar circumstances I would penalise him. Double standards I appreciate. In an attempt at justification - without the absolute backing of the laws though in one scenario I am rewarding positive play whilst in the other I am de-incentivising negative play.

  4. #14

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,491
    Thanks (Received)
    57
    Likes (Received)
    876

    Default Re: Quiz #7 tackle in goal

    I missed the "rolls over" bit.

    Hmmm.

    nah, award the try. works for me.

    didds

  5. #15

    ELRA/Club Referee


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    08 Nov 18
    Posts
    85
    Thanks (Received)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    26

    Default Re: Quiz #7 tackle in goal

    Whilst not wanting to sidetrack too much, a more interesting scenario would be if the defender in this scenario rolled over and touched down ahead of the attacker. Would you give the 5m scrum to Red, a penalty to Blue or a penalty try on the basis that the nearest player to the Blue defender was Red 7 who only needed to regain his feet to score the try?

  6. #16

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,826
    Thanks (Received)
    127
    Likes (Received)
    1615

    Default Re: Quiz #7 tackle in goal

    Bingo ...if you are going to allow one of the players to roll along the ground and touch the ball down , then both of them must be allowed to do it....

    Either they both can, or neither .. so now see Law 13
    Last edited by crossref; 05-02-19 at 11:02.

  7. #17

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,892
    Thanks (Received)
    32
    Likes (Received)
    327

    Default Re: Quiz #7 tackle in goal

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    ... although if a player on the ground in TiG can reach out to score, surely a player in-goal can too.
    Genuine question, but can a player on the ground in TiG reach out to score?

    I know a player on his feet but over TiG or the DBL can score by dabbing the ball down, but off his feet?

  8. #18

    ELRA/Club Referee


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    08 Nov 18
    Posts
    85
    Thanks (Received)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    26

    Default Re: Quiz #7 tackle in goal

    I guess that if the dynamics of the situation were such that I could persuade myself that either player touching down was part of the same fluid movement as the tackle, even though they technically hadn't regained their feet before playing the ball I'd be satisfied with that. In the case where both were scrabbling round to find the ball which had been lost in the tackle and then crawling or rolling towards it before touching down I would be likely to use Law 13 to justify a sanction against either player.

  9. #19

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,826
    Thanks (Received)
    127
    Likes (Received)
    1615

    Default Re: Quiz #7 tackle in goal

    In this scenario, oddly enough , he had to roll over to reach the ball .. so PK ?

  10. #20
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Rugby Nederland
    Grade
    WR level 2
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    1,067
    Thanks (Received)
    15
    Likes (Received)
    286

    Default Re: Quiz #7 tackle in goal

    Since we're looking at the laws in detail, 7.2.c - knock-on advantage over, go back for red scrum 5?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •