Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Double movement

      
  1. #1

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,395
    Thanks (Received)
    106
    Likes (Received)
    1478

    Default Double movement

    Argument on another site had me looking at the law on "double movement".

    In 2017 the law was fairly detailed:
    22.1
    There are two ways a player can ground the ball:
    (a) Player touches the ground with the ball. A player grounds the ball by holding the ball and touching the ground with it, in in-goal. ‘Holding’ means holding in the hand or hands, or in the arm or arms. No downward pressure is required.
    (b) Player presses down on the ball. A player grounds the ball when it is on the ground in the in-goal and the player presses down on it with a hand or hands, arm or arms, or the front of the player’s body from waist to neck inclusive.

    22.4
    (e) Tackled near the goal line. If a player is tackled near to the opponents’ goal line so that this player can immediately reach out and ground the ball on or over the goal line, a try is scored.


    The 2019 version is a little odd
    21.8 A tackled player near their own goal line may reach out and ground the ball in in-goal to make a touch down, provided it is done immediately.

    What about "near the opponents' goal line"?!

    There is a possible inference:
    21.11 If a tackled player is in the act of reaching out to ground the ball for a try or touch down, players may pull the ball from the player’s possession but must not kick or attempt to kick the ball.

    That does not make sense unless the attacking player is allowed to reach out to score a try.

    There is still no definition of "reach out". My understanding is that a player may roll sideways if the ball is trapped beneath his body and then reach out, but may not deliberately move his body closer to the goal-line.

    The single movement of driving your body forward with the ball under you is clearly illegal.
    The double movement of moving your body sideways and then reaching out is allowed.

    The phrase "double movement" should be replaced by "illegal movement".
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  2. #2

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,674
    Thanks (Received)
    127
    Likes (Received)
    1611

    Default Re: Double movement

    OB you need 8.2 as well

    .
    A try is scored when an attacking player:

    Is first to ground the ball in the opponents’ in-goal, against the opponents’ goal post or its surrounding padding.

    Is first to ground the ball when a scrum, ruck or maul reaches the goal line.

    With the ball is tackled short of the goal line and the player’s momentum carries them in a continuous movement along the ground into the opponents’ in-goal, and the player is first to ground the ball.

    Is tackled near to the opponents’ goal line and the player immediately reaches out and grounds the ball.
    Who is in touch or touch-in-goal, grounds the ball in the opponents’ in-goal provided the player is not holding the ball.

  3. #3

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,395
    Thanks (Received)
    106
    Likes (Received)
    1478

    Default Re: Double movement

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    OB you need 8.2 as well

    .
    A try is scored when an attacking player:

    Is first to ground the ball in the opponents’ in-goal, against the opponents’ goal post or its surrounding padding.

    Is first to ground the ball when a scrum, ruck or maul reaches the goal line.

    With the ball is tackled short of the goal line and the player’s momentum carries them in a continuous movement along the ground into the opponents’ in-goal, and the player is first to ground the ball.

    Is tackled near to the opponents’ goal line and the player immediately reaches out and grounds the ball.
    Who is in touch or touch-in-goal, grounds the ball in the opponents’ in-goal provided the player is not holding the ball.
    Ah, yes, of course. Thanks.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  4. #4

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,674
    Thanks (Received)
    127
    Likes (Received)
    1611

    Default Re: Double movement

    It's a shame that in the new Law Book , when they cover the same topic in two different Laws, they didn't include a crossref

    (did you see what I did there ?)

  5. #5

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,751
    Thanks (Received)
    133
    Likes (Received)
    1178
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Double movement

    For me a player who comes up short may reach out with his arm (or arms) to ground the ball on the line.
    What I wont allow is him to propel his body nearer to the line, once it has come to a stop, using hands, elbows, knees, etc to get him near enough to score.

    I find this gets buy in from the players and is generally how other referees manage it.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  6. #6
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Prefer not to say
    Grade
    Retired
    Join Date
    10 Dec 15
    Posts
    1,756
    Thanks (Received)
    17
    Likes (Received)
    394

    Default Re: Double movement

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil E View Post
    For me a player who comes up short may reach out with his arm (or arms) to ground the ball on the line.
    What I wont allow is him to propel his body nearer to the line, once it has come to a stop, using hands, elbows, knees, etc to get him near enough to score.

    I find this gets buy in from the players and is generally how other referees manage it.
    TBH, I didn't think there was really any contention here until Saturday when pundits were suggesting it was only a double movement if you use your knees or elbows!

    I've always thought it's a know it when you see it situation and I can't remember having any complaints about any such decisions.

  7. #7

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,674
    Thanks (Received)
    127
    Likes (Received)
    1611

    Default Re: Double movement

    The grey area seems to be when the ball carrier hits the ground short but the force/momentum of his teammates push him the last 50cm ...

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •