Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 33

Thread: Quiz # 7 (of 10)

      
  1. #21

    Referees in Australia
    menace's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    ACTRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    20 Nov 09
    Posts
    3,545
    Thanks (Received)
    60
    Likes (Received)
    483
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Quiz # 7 (of 10)

    Quote Originally Posted by Not Kurt Weaver View Post
    Oh yes it is (in touch)

    Touch or touch-in-goal

    The ball is in touch or touch-in-goal when:
    a. The ball or ball-carrier touches the touchline, touch-in-goal line or anything beyond.

    I bit ridiculous, but remember this is rugby not brain surgery. It is intentionally absurd. Trying to make sense of it is a fool's endeavor


    Yes the ball is dead, why is it dead? the ball has touched anything beyond


    Ain't it great, comedy. Alas we our again its (rugby) fools
    Except for the bird that just sh@t on the ball out of the ruck and the #9 box kicks him up the arse.(over field of play)...he's not touching anything beyond or in touch???

    Plus if a ball.is already dead at the moment it hits that object...it doesn't matter what happened next even if it does go across.plane of touch. Can a ball be dead twice???
    Last edited by menace; 07-02-19 at 02:02.
    Tell em it's Law 23 and smile

  2. #22

    Referees in Australia
    menace's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    ACTRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    20 Nov 09
    Posts
    3,545
    Thanks (Received)
    60
    Likes (Received)
    483
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Quiz # 7 (of 10)

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    An interesting follow up to this question is scenarios such as

    Red kick long for touch , the ball travels 40m upfield and just inside the touchline it makes a glancing contact with the spider cam , and continues into touch .

    Decision ?

    (a clue - this law is not properly thought through )
    Same as before...scrum..kickers feed. 5m line adjacent where it hit the drone .
    But in fairness i would probably set the scrum from where the kick was. Equity and all that. Seems unfair for kicker to get gain in ground and feed. Seems enough that kicking team retains possession (and hope like hell they dont have a weak scrum!)
    Tell em it's Law 23 and smile

  3. #23

    Referees in America
    Not Kurt Weaver's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Ohio
    Grade
    C3
    Join Date
    11 Sep 08
    Posts
    2,018
    Thanks (Received)
    14
    Likes (Received)
    109
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Quiz # 7 (of 10)

    Quote Originally Posted by menace View Post
    Except for the bird that just sh@t on the ball out of the ruck and the #9 box kicks him up the arse.(over field of play)...he's not touching anything beyond or in touch???

    Plus if a ball.is already dead at the moment it hits that object...it doesn't matter what happened next even if it does go across.plane of touch. Can a ball be dead twice???
    It is only dead once, when it hit the object beyond touch. in this case a camera suspended to wire connected beyond touch, no need to cross the plane

    your bird example would be a scrum to the bird's opponent, the attacking team, or team last in possession or RPS

  4. #24

    Referees in Australia
    menace's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    ACTRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    20 Nov 09
    Posts
    3,545
    Thanks (Received)
    60
    Likes (Received)
    483
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Quiz # 7 (of 10)

    Yes...i see what you mean...the hip bone is connected to the thigh bone , connected to the leg bone, connected to the foot bone...and the foot is in touch!!!
    Tell em it's Law 23 and smile

  5. #25

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,425
    Thanks (Received)
    136
    Likes (Received)
    1686

    Default Re: Quiz # 7 (of 10)

    I think notion that 6.9.f isn't meant to cover the spider cam is far fetched , to say the least.
    I am sure that 6.9.f was invented specially BECAUSE of the spider cam .. they have become ubiquitous and it suddenly occurred to WR that one day the ball will hit one, and they should have a Law to cover it

  6. #26

    Referees in America
    Not Kurt Weaver's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Ohio
    Grade
    C3
    Join Date
    11 Sep 08
    Posts
    2,018
    Thanks (Received)
    14
    Likes (Received)
    109
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Quiz # 7 (of 10)

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    I think notion that 6.9.f isn't meant to cover the spider cam is far fetched , to say the least.
    I am sure that 6.9.f was invented specially BECAUSE of the spider cam .. they have become ubiquitous and it suddenly occurred to WR that one day the ball will hit one, and they should have a Law to cover it
    good point, but yet they (from above quote) did not include a specific sanction

  7. #27

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,425
    Thanks (Received)
    136
    Likes (Received)
    1686

    Default Re: Quiz # 7 (of 10)

    Quote Originally Posted by Not Kurt Weaver View Post
    good point, but yet they (from above quote) did not include a specific sanction
    Yes. It's not an infringement. The ball is just dead

  8. #28

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,518
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1535

    Default Re: Quiz # 7 (of 10)

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    I think notion that 6.9.f isn't meant to cover the spider cam is far fetched , to say the least.
    I am sure that 6.9.f was invented specially BECAUSE of the spider cam .. they have become ubiquitous and it suddenly occurred to WR that one day the ball will hit one, and they should have a Law to cover it
    It has already happened.

    2009 Wales v France
    One of the most bizarre incidents to have happened on a pitch then unfolded, scrum-half Mike Phillips' kick hitting the overhead camera, albeit without any direct impact on the contest.
    Referee was Mark Lawrence.

    2016 Australia v England
    Wallabies coach Michael Cheika's dissatisfaction over the officiating in his team's 3-0 series defeat by England has hit overdrive after the referee failed to intervene when the ball hit an overhead camera wire.
    Referee Nigel Owens https://www.abc.net.au/news/2016-06-...dercam/7544234

    In the 2017 book, "dead" was only defined in the Definitions
    Dead: The ball is out of play. This happens when the ball has gone outside the playing area and remained there, or when the referee has blown the whistle to indicate a stoppage in play, or when a conversion kick has been taken.

    There was nothing in Law 6.

    2019
    Dead: The ball is dead when the referee blows the whistle to stop play or following an unsuccessful conversion.

    The link in the on-line version takes you to a list of places where the word "dead" is used in the laws. (Why else would you look in Law 6?)

    6.9 (f) does not say what should happen, but since the ball is now dead, presumably we cannot just play on.

    Scrum? 19.1
    The referee awards a scrum for any other reason not covered in law
    on the basis that the consequence is not covered even though the reason is.

    Free Kick? 20.1 requires an infringement.
    "While the ball is dead"? Maybe.
    "Any infringement that takes place outside the playing area while the ball is in play"? The ball is outside the playing area, but no longer in play.
    Last edited by OB..; 07-02-19 at 17:02.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  9. #29

    Referees in America
    Not Kurt Weaver's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Ohio
    Grade
    C3
    Join Date
    11 Sep 08
    Posts
    2,018
    Thanks (Received)
    14
    Likes (Received)
    109
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Quiz # 7 (of 10)

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Yes. It's not an infringement. The ball is just dead
    Sorry Im out.

    Just wrote a response and was timed out by site and didn't post.

  10. #30

    Referees in America
    Not Kurt Weaver's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Ohio
    Grade
    C3
    Join Date
    11 Sep 08
    Posts
    2,018
    Thanks (Received)
    14
    Likes (Received)
    109
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Quiz # 7 (of 10)

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post



    White are losing by one point with two minutes to go, when black give away a PK on the half way line.
    Let me reanswer to OP. Lineout to black on halfway, same touchline as sidemost from where was kicked.

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Yes. It's not an infringement. The ball is just dead
    Yep it is not an infringement, well maybe it is. I agree the ball is dead upon hitting overhead.

    Well i know it is a far, far, far reach. But there is a law that does kinda indicate that it is dead because it is in touch. It did touch anything beyond the touchline. A tree branch or a spectator reaching for the ball whilst over the field would result in a l/o. This is not vastly different especially when this offers a way to restart the dead ball. 6.9f does not offer a restart. TBH with the feeds that take place, a l/o is just as equitable as a scrum. A l/o is not an unreasonable form of restart.

    Now as to the possible infringement. The PK kicker used a place kick that, by my far, far, far reach went directly to touch. Directly to touch from a PK would normally be a white throw, however it wasn't kick as per.

    Now to add further folly to the foolishness of rugby law. We have to define overhead. Is a player with his arms raised actually putting his hands in this overhead status.

    I could go on. Making sense of this folly is part of the game.

    "We are all prisoners here of our on device." Glenn Frey, I believe, circa 5th grade so 1975 ish

    This was brilliant question. Thought provoking for some and a real strain of decency for others. Pure gold for me.

    "Remember boys, we all think we know what we are doing, but really ain't a one of us has a clue" NKW circa 2019
    Last edited by Not Kurt Weaver; 08-02-19 at 03:02.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •