Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 26

Thread: Quiz 10 (of 10) : A kick in time

      
  1. #11

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    Warwickshire
    Grade
    Retired (Injury)
    Join Date
    04 Feb 07
    Posts
    186
    Thanks (Received)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    11

    Default Re: Quiz 10 (of 10) : A kick in time

    So far, so good - but then we need a definition of directly. Here, alas, the Law Book is lacking as despite it being used in scores of places the book never properly defines directly.
    there is - under definitions
    Kicked directly into touch: The ball is kicked into touch without first landing on the playing area or touching a player or the referee.
    Let me make a confession: I do not know whether the decision which gave the try from which the winning goal was kicked was correct in fact, When in doubt I think it is justified in deciding against the side which makes the most noise. They are probably in the wrong.
    Dr Hely Hutchinson Almond 1871

  2. #12
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cambridge and St Neots
    Grade
    I am a Fan
    Join Date
    08 Mar 11
    Posts
    1,396
    Thanks (Received)
    22
    Likes (Received)
    229

    Default Re: Quiz 10 (of 10) : A kick in time

    In the old days a player catching the ball before it crossed that plane, but with one foot in touch meant the ball had gone directly into touch. Players used to do this to ensure no gain in ground.

    Then the touch laws were changed and the catcher was deemmed to have taken the ball into touch, and they would give away both the gain in ground and the thow in. Several players were caught out in the first week.

    Given that I would say it is not direct and the half ends.

  3. #13

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,934
    Thanks (Received)
    146
    Likes (Received)
    1814

    Default Re: Quiz 10 (of 10) : A kick in time

    In either case the moment it touches the player it is in touch

  4. #14

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,934
    Thanks (Received)
    146
    Likes (Received)
    1814

    Default Re: Quiz 10 (of 10) : A kick in time

    Quote Originally Posted by collybs View Post
    there is - under definitions
    It never occurred to me to look it up under K

  5. #15
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    02 Nov 18
    Posts
    483
    Thanks (Received)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    46

    Default Re: Quiz 10 (of 10) : A kick in time

    I think that definition is for when a kick from open play or restart after a score goes into touch. If a PK was kicked into touch "indirectly" would you award the trow in the Line-out to the non kicking team? I'd suggest that the important factor here is that directly means without hitting another player or being tapped and kicked.
    Last edited by Arabcheif; 08-02-19 at 15:02.

  6. #16

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,934
    Thanks (Received)
    146
    Likes (Received)
    1814

    Default Re: Quiz 10 (of 10) : A kick in time

    If a PK bounces into touch the kicking team retain the throw in to the lineout, but if time has expired the half is over, there is no line out

    It's an inconsistency of approach in the Law

  7. #17
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cambridge and St Neots
    Grade
    I am a Fan
    Join Date
    08 Mar 11
    Posts
    1,396
    Thanks (Received)
    22
    Likes (Received)
    229

    Default Re: Quiz 10 (of 10) : A kick in time

    We are discussing whether there is time for the line out - not who gets the throw.

    Law 18.8.c is actually clear that the kicking team get the throw after penalty, even if the ball bounces or the opposition catch it while in touch. In fact apparently they get ithe throw even if the ball bounces off the referee.

    Given the law has different cases for a kick direct to touch and a kick caught by an opponent in touch - I think it is clear only one permits the line out after time.

  8. #18
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    02 Nov 18
    Posts
    483
    Thanks (Received)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    46

    Default Re: Quiz 10 (of 10) : A kick in time

    Yeah I know that the kicking team would have the throw in the line out. My suggestion is I can't see anything on the WR website specifying that the ball is "in play" if it hits the ground prior to going out of play, therefore if it subsequently made dead from "open play" if it goes out.
    I can see no mention of this specific example on the WR website.
    Is there a law reference for that CR?

  9. #19
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    02 Nov 18
    Posts
    483
    Thanks (Received)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    46

    Default Re: Quiz 10 (of 10) : A kick in time

    I'm with Camquin - I would think the bounce is irrelevant.

    I agree with the rest though lol.

  10. #20

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,934
    Thanks (Received)
    146
    Likes (Received)
    1814

    Default Re: Quiz 10 (of 10) : A kick in time

    I am not sure I understand the question , but isn't it 5.7.c above

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •