Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 26 of 26

Thread: Quiz 10 (of 10) : A kick in time

      
  1. #21
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    02 Nov 18
    Posts
    451
    Thanks (Received)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    45

    Default Re: Quiz 10 (of 10) : A kick in time

    A penalty is kicked directly to touch without the ball first being tapped and without the ball touching another player. - This is 5.7.c.

    I read this as the ball is kicked and goes into touch, without hitting another player (ie an 11 trying to catch it to stop it going out). I take this to mean that a bounce off the ground is irrelevant and the line out can still be taken. I'm no ref, as I've said previously but that's just how I'd interpret this.

  2. #22

    ELRA/Club Referee


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    08 Nov 18
    Posts
    120
    Thanks (Received)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    35

    Default Re: Quiz 10 (of 10) : A kick in time

    I’m not for one minute suggesting I would do this in a game and I am aware of the dangers of reading too much into the wording but on a quiet Friday afternoon and having had 18.8c raised by Camquin I had a quick look. The wording says that the kicking team gains the throw if “A player kicks the ball into touch (either directly or first bouncing in the field of play or HITTING A PLAYER or the referee)”. So if Green kick from hand at a penalty (A “Garryowen” or “up and under” in rugby league terms) and the arriving Green player fails to catch it but the ball bounces off him into touch surely by the wording of the law Green would still be entitled to the throw? The law doesn’t distinguish between an attacking or defending player, it merely says a player, or have I missed something?

  3. #23
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Rugby Nederland
    Grade
    WR level 2
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    1,199
    Thanks (Received)
    18
    Likes (Received)
    321

    Default Re: Quiz 10 (of 10) : A kick in time

    Quote Originally Posted by Arabcheif View Post
    A penalty is kicked directly to touch without the ball first being tapped and without the ball touching another player. - This is 5.7.c.

    I read this as the ball is kicked and goes into touch, without hitting another player (ie an 11 trying to catch it to stop it going out). I take this to mean that a bounce off the ground is irrelevant and the line out can still be taken. I'm no ref, as I've said previously but that's just how I'd interpret this.
    There's a Definitions section that defines "kicked directly into touch", and it explicitly states that the ball can't land first on the playing area.

    https://laws.worldrugby.org/?domain=2#let11

  4. #24

    Referees in America
    thepercy's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    New York State Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    21 Sep 13
    Posts
    748
    Thanks (Received)
    15
    Likes (Received)
    118

    Default Re: Quiz 10 (of 10) : A kick in time

    1} A - The law uses the word DIRECTLY (we know from quiz 3, that the law can use the same word to mean different thing) then goes on to define it. Without tapping, and without touching another player. Why if they intended to include touching the ground didn't they include that clause?
    2} G
    3} Q - Blue took the ball into touch
    4} S - Anybody else think this could be a PK for intentional offending/taking the piss?
    5} Y

  5. #25
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    02 Nov 18
    Posts
    451
    Thanks (Received)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    45

    Default Re: Quiz 10 (of 10) : A kick in time

    Rich_NL - I've read that definition, but when you click on it it tells you that it applies in law 18. Not 5.7... So "kicked Directly into touch" doesn't apply for ending the match from a PK. 5.7.c just stipulates that the ball cannot be tapped and then kicked or touch another player (attacking or defending). In those scenarios yes, half over. If the bounce had a material affect and therefore impact it would link the definition to Law 5 too.
    Law 18: Touch, quick throw and lineoutBall is kicked directly into touch from a kick-off or restart kick

    Law 18: Touch, quick throw and lineout
    Ball is kicked directly into touch from within own 22 or in-goal

    Law 18: Touch, quick throw and lineout
    Ball is kicked directly into touch from outside the 22




    There are another 2 mentions in the definitions but they are for leisure rugby (Beach and Tag Rugby), so I suggest they don't apply to this.

  6. #26

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,766
    Thanks (Received)
    139
    Likes (Received)
    1759

    Default Re: Quiz 10 (of 10) : A kick in time

    Scenario 1 The kick bounces

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Answer - B End of half (the ball didn't go directly to touch, it bounced)
    Quote Originally Posted by thepercy View Post
    1} A - The law uses the word DIRECTLY [...] then goes on to define it. Without tapping, and without touching another player. Why if they intended to include touching the ground didn't they include that clause?
    thepercy - that is a great argument.

    Isn't it incredible that even for a very simple, everyday scenario (this could easily happen in our games tomorrow .. it's not at all infrequent to miss touch, or for the ball to bounce) there are two answers, both plausible.

    thepercy - I don't think your interpretation is what the Law makers intended but your logic is good, and I concede that it's perfectly possible that your interpretation is indeed what they meant.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •