Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: TWOL - who is part of the tackle?

      
  1. #1

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    15,862
    Thanks (Received)
    118
    Likes (Received)
    1522

    Default TWOL - who is part of the tackle?

    in this picture blue tackled red, and did not engage, so a TWOL is formed - a tackle with offside lines.

    more red players have arrived to the tackle and bound on (more or less)

    Q1 - which of the red players are 'part of the tackle' -- can you arrive at a tackle and become part of if it?

    Q2 - is the ball out


    https://www.dropbox.com/s/gjv7f9a9xi...06.00.png?dl=0

    This is taken from SA Referees who discuss it here
    https://www.sareferees.com/laws/view/2831402/

  2. #2
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    493
    Thanks (Received)
    8
    Likes (Received)
    96

    Default Re: TWOL - who is part of the tackle?

    Saw this at the time, what more annoyed me was the red 9 was allowed to pull the ball back with his foot from halfway back on that conga line, he literally walked along the line, never behind the back foot (hindmost what not), if they want the advantage of that length of ruck / twol then they need to work the ball back legally

  3. #3
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Rugby Nederland
    Grade
    WR level 2
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    813
    Thanks (Received)
    9
    Likes (Received)
    189

    Default Re: TWOL - who is part of the tackle?

    For me, a metre back from the tackle I'm calling ball out.

  4. #4

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    11,894
    Thanks (Received)
    93
    Likes (Received)
    1145

    Default Re: TWOL - who is part of the tackle?

    and Q3 - does the ref call 'use it' at a TWOL? This ref certainly did.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  5. #5

    Referees in Scotland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    20 Dec 17
    Posts
    296
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    66

    Default Re: TWOL - who is part of the tackle?

    Well regardless of whether the joining players are part of the tackle, several in the chain are not bound so I'm calling ball is out and available to play.

    In general I referee the TWOL as a ruck, therefore players can join the tackle area extending the area the ball remains within the tackle, but I want them bound properly or its either out or they are obstructing. And I call "Use it" which I believe is unpopular here but I haven't found a better management technique yet.

  6. #6

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    15,862
    Thanks (Received)
    118
    Likes (Received)
    1522

    Default Re: TWOL - who is part of the tackle?

    Quote Originally Posted by Zebra1922 View Post
    Well regardless of whether the joining players are part of the tackle, several in the chain are not bound so I'm calling ball is out and available to play.
    Would you announce ball out ?

  7. #7
    Slowing down these days

    Soc/Assoc
    London Society
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    21 Jan 09
    Posts
    357
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    39

    Default Re: TWOL - who is part of the tackle?

    I would probably manage it with a "Bind fully!" warning first and , if no change, a "Ball out !" call soon after and a friendly chat/warning on the way to the lineout which normally follows a box-kick here.
    I remember once getting feeback about allowing a number 8 at the scume to slip to a "hand-only" bind as he dribbled the ball at te base of a scrum. If you take the p1ss binding weakly then take the consequences.

  8. #8

    Referees in Scotland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    20 Dec 17
    Posts
    296
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    66

    Default Re: TWOL - who is part of the tackle?

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Would you announce ball out ?

    Yes I would, and I do this at rucks. This is to be fair to everyone as the defending team will rarely be sure or know if/when you view the ball is out. Let’s the attacking team know to get a move as well as a burly defending will shortly be heading their way!

  9. #9

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,603
    Thanks (Received)
    119
    Likes (Received)
    1041
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: TWOL - who is part of the tackle?

    The red players to the right of Blue 1 are not part of the tackle as they are not bound.
    The ball is more than a meter from the tackle area, so tackle over, play on.

    Is that out Sir?

    Yes

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  10. #10

    Referees in England
    beckett50's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    East Midlands
    Grade
    Level 6
    Join Date
    31 Jan 04
    Posts
    2,205
    Thanks (Received)
    12
    Likes (Received)
    109

    Default Re: TWOL - who is part of the tackle?

    Agree with Phil E.

    If asked then answer as you see it.

    FWIW Blue #1 is offside and so cannot challenge the Red #9

    'Showbiz' rugby
    --------------------

    https://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=691560798


    "Listen, or your tongue will make you deaf" Native American Proverb

    Vanillaisforicecream

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •