In which case the ball hasn't gone dead.
Simples.
"usual caveats apply" was included in my initial assertion. lets not over complicate matters. the OIP didn;t include anything about the ball cannoning off the charger into his own player, or the ball held up, or an alien beaming the ref up as it happened and is it the nearby TJ toi adjudge of the AR 50m away on the 22? etc etc etc . The ref in the OP just got it wrong - and 9s)hbe only had one decsion to make - who put the ball into the in-goal.
didds