Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: Put in to the scrum

      
  1. #11

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,408
    Thanks (Received)
    136
    Likes (Received)
    1682

    Default Re: Put in to the scrum

    Quote Originally Posted by DocY View Post
    It keeps cropping up. The old lawbook said, IIRC, "the scrum half must put the ball into the scrum on the side first chosen" and some people (including at least one assessor) took that to mean for the rest of the game.
    Well, there you are, the referee will be one of those 2017fundamentalists grimly reffing to the old law book, pausing merely to remark that 'there are no law changes '

  2. #12

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,517
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1535

    Default Re: Put in to the scrum

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Well, there you are, the referee will be one of those 2017fundamentalists grimly reffing to the old law book, pausing merely to remark that 'there are no law changes '
    2017
    20.5 [...] The scrum half must throw in the ball from the side of the scrum first chosen.

    The wording is ambiguous since it fails to define when this law applies. As it stands it could mean from the first scrum, or it could mean "at each scrum". The latter has been the standard view. I would mark it as a law error if any referee tried to enforce the former view.

    Many years ago I actually had to enforce this law. Anyone else? It must be pretty rare.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  3. #13
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Prefer not to say
    Grade
    Retired
    Join Date
    10 Dec 15
    Posts
    1,758
    Thanks (Received)
    17
    Likes (Received)
    396

    Default Re: Put in to the scrum

    Quote Originally Posted by OB.. View Post
    Many years ago I actually had to enforce this law. Anyone else? It must be pretty rare.
    I've come across the situation once, but didn't enforce it.

    A team that were a long way behind put someone at scrum half who didn't look like he'd ever played there before. He went to the TH and a team-mate 'reminded' him where he should be.

    I thought a "Don't do that again" better than a FK in the circumstances.

  4. #14

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,841
    Thanks (Received)
    152
    Likes (Received)
    1248
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Put in to the scrum

    I cant imagine ever penalising anyone for this.

    Most of the time they just absentmindedly wander to the wrong side.
    A quick "would you like to join us on this side?" is met with "Oh yeah" embarrassed laugh.

    The only time I could see enforcing this is if they go I am definitely putting in from this side ref....we start the engagement and they go...no I've changed my mind, I want to put in from the other side.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  5. #15

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,517
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1535

    Default Re: Put in to the scrum

    Quote Originally Posted by DocY View Post
    I've come across the situation once, but didn't enforce it.

    A team that were a long way behind put someone at scrum half who didn't look like he'd ever played there before. He went to the TH and a team-mate 'reminded' him where he should be.

    I thought a "Don't do that again" better than a FK in the circumstances.
    I didn't penalise it because the scrum half had never played the position before, but I did make him stay the same side. The confusion was such that his team won the ball anyway, and he didn't make the same mistake again.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  6. #16

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,322
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1290

    Default Re: Put in to the scrum

    I frequently stand on the non-feed side and sometimes the SH will absentmindedly join me there. A quick reminder sorts it out.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  7. #17
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    02 Nov 18
    Posts
    404
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    38

    Default Re: Put in to the scrum

    I read the lead the same. The scrum half can change sides for each scrum. Might be an issue in a reset scrum???


    Another thought.... can the scrum half stand at the rear of the scrum and come to the tunnel at the "bind?"

  8. #18

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,594
    Thanks (Received)
    60
    Likes (Received)
    903

    Default Re: Put in to the scrum

    If it was before the engagement Id be surprised that the THP didn't have a word. and even if after the engagement (and that woulnd;t happen today surely?) possibly still the right flanker.

    Something I am mildly surprised at is that when scrums go uncontested the tactical choice of side fo scrummage to put in isn;t used more - as it pulls the defending scrum half away from a place you may want to attack. (susual caveats over age groups etc)

    didds

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •