Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Question- lineout

      
  1. #1
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    02 Nov 18
    Posts
    330
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    32

    Default Question- lineout

    Right I've got a quick question.

    Law 18.1
    I'm at the touchline, I've got one foot in play and one foot in touch. I catch the ball when the ball is over the plane of touch. So am I right in saying line out the the kick receiving team. If I've caught it before the ball reaches he plane of touch it's a line out to the kicking team. Or do we just play on as the ball "isn't in touch?"

    If the ball is in touch has this changed over the last few years (10-15 years)?

  2. #2
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Rugby Nederland
    Grade
    WR level 2
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    1,088
    Thanks (Received)
    16
    Likes (Received)
    291

    Default Re: Question- lineout

    LO, your throw in. The other team took it over the plane.

    Changed two years ago, IIRC, used to be your throw in irrespective of crossing the plane.

  3. #3
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    02 Nov 18
    Posts
    330
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    32

    Default Re: Question- lineout

    So Just to clarify one foot in touch/one foot in the field of play...
    1. I catch the ball after crossing the plane of touch - LO to my team.
    2. I catch the ball before crossing the plane of touch - LO against me as I've "carried it out."
    Am I right with that yeah?

  4. #4

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,511
    Thanks (Received)
    57
    Likes (Received)
    881

    Default Re: Question- lineout

    This used to be dead simple - it was "always" your throw until quite recently.

    Now its down to the parallax your Level 9 ref returning from injury that is lacking a bit of fitness in the 72nd minute desperately trying to follow a turned over ball and long kick can manage.

    Or something.

    Winner.

  5. #5

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,786
    Thanks (Received)
    135
    Likes (Received)
    1192
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Question- lineout

    Quote Originally Posted by Arabcheif View Post
    So Just to clarify one foot in touch/one foot in the field of play...
    1. I catch the ball after crossing the plane of touch - LO to my team.
    2. I catch the ball before crossing the plane of touch - LO against me as I've "carried it out."
    Am I right with that yeah?
    Yes.
    Its the same if you are fully in touch, have a foot either side of the line, or just a foot on the line.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  6. #6

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,920
    Thanks (Received)
    131
    Likes (Received)
    1623

    Default Re: Question- lineout

    Quote Originally Posted by Arabcheif View Post
    So Just to clarify one foot in touch/one foot in the field of play...
    1. I catch the ball after crossing the plane of touch - LO to my team.
    2. I catch the ball before crossing the plane of touch - LO against me as I've "carried it out."
    Am I right with that yeah?
    you are correct

    (this is new Law, introduced last season)

  7. #7

    Referees in America
    thepercy's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    New York State Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    21 Sep 13
    Posts
    677
    Thanks (Received)
    14
    Likes (Received)
    98

    Default Re: Question- lineout

    Also worth noting, you cannot cause the loss of gain in ground from kicks in front of the 22 by catching a ball that has not crossed the PoT with your foot in touch.

  8. #8

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,262
    Thanks (Received)
    106
    Likes (Received)
    1262

    Default Re: Question- lineout

    Quote Originally Posted by Arabcheif View Post
    So Just to clarify one foot in touch/one foot in the field of play...
    1. I catch the ball after crossing the plane of touch - LO to my team.
    2. I catch the ball before crossing the plane of touch - LO against me as I've "carried it out."
    Am I right with that yeah?
    As others have said, yes.

    And same principle applies to other lines. So a defender with one foot in in-goal and one foot in FoP catches the ball in FoP. If he then grounds it in goal, 5 metre scrum
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  9. #9

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,920
    Thanks (Received)
    131
    Likes (Received)
    1623

    Default Re: Question- lineout

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    As others have said, yes.

    And same principle applies to other lines. So a defender with one foot in in-goal and one foot in FoP catches the ball in FoP. If he then grounds it in goal, 5 metre scrum
    only if it hadn't crossed the plane, if it had crossed the plane then (assuming the attackers had played it last) it's a 22m DO.

  10. #10

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,898
    Thanks (Received)
    33
    Likes (Received)
    330

    Default Re: Question- lineout

    When I queried this before, for me the nugget came from ThePercy.

    Quote Originally Posted by thepercy View Post
    ... No longer can you catch a ball in play and make it dead, rolling or otherwise, and get the possession, you've caused it to go in to touch, Ingoal or dead.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •