View Poll Results: Is the ball OUT ?

Voters
20. You may not vote on this poll
  • A ONLY

    1 5.00%
  • B ONLY

    3 15.00%
  • Both A and B

    16 80.00%
  • Neither A nor B

    0 0%
Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 55

Thread: Is the ball out?

      
  1. #41
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    West Yorkshire
    Grade
    Ref Advisor/Assessor
    Join Date
    16 May 16
    Posts
    64
    Thanks (Received)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    14

    Default Re: Is the ball out?

    After re-watching the video by Alain Rolland on TWOL, it was stated that if the player over the ball moves from being over the ball, the offside lines disappear. And from both these pictures it would seem that the player over the ball has moved past the point of being over it so no more offside lines.

    Link: https://youtu.be/m9xHTCUCm0I?t=455

  2. #42

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,957
    Thanks (Received)
    131
    Likes (Received)
    1624

    Default Re: Is the ball out?

    Quote Originally Posted by Elpablo73 View Post
    After re-watching the video by Alain Rolland on TWOL, it was stated that if the player over the ball moves from being over the ball, the offside lines disappear. And from both these pictures it would seem that the player over the ball has moved past the point of being over it so no more offside lines.

    Link: https://youtu.be/m9xHTCUCm0I?t=455
    That video was always off piste , and anyway the Law has changed since then .. when AR made the video the TWOL had not been invented

  3. #43
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Quebec Society of Rugby Referees
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    16 Feb 12
    Posts
    285
    Thanks (Received)
    5
    Likes (Received)
    26

    Default Re: Is the ball out?

    In the YouTube clip, you can hear Jaco tell BV that the ball was "still covered". Does that mean he thought there was a ruck? It can't have anything to do with a TWOL, can it?

  4. #44
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Nov 18
    Posts
    28
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    2

    Default Re: Is the ball out?

    Hang on a mo, isn't there a convention that "away from" means 1m or so? From previous threads here that's what I've been led to believe, IIRC.

    If so, surely the ball isn't "out" of the TWOL (i.e. the TWOL isn't over) because it only ends when the ball has moved away from the tackle area, and clearly at least in A it hasn't, regardless of the (technically illegal but commonly accepted) hand on the ball (or not)?

    14.11

    The tackle ends when:
    A ruck is formed.
    A player on their feet from either team gains possession of the ball and moves away or passes or kicks the ball.
    The ball leaves the tackle area.
    The ball is unplayable. If there is doubt about which player did not conform to law, the referee orders a scrum. The throw is taken by the team moving forward prior to the stoppage or, if no team was moving forward, by the attacking team.
    Last edited by belladonna; 07-03-19 at 21:03.

  5. #45

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,786
    Thanks (Received)
    135
    Likes (Received)
    1192
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Is the ball out?

    The tackle area is defined by the players in it.

    The 1m is a definition of close. As in close to the scrum. Although that definition has helpfully been removed from the re-write of the law book.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  6. #46
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Rugby Nederland
    Grade
    WR level 2
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    1,090
    Thanks (Received)
    16
    Likes (Received)
    291

    Default Re: Is the ball out?

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil E View Post
    The tackle area is defined by the players in it.

    The 1m is a definition of close. As in close to the scrum. Although that definition has helpfully been removed from the re-write of the law book.
    Definitions: Near

  7. #47
    Slowing down these days

    Soc/Assoc
    London Society
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    21 Jan 09
    Posts
    383
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    40

    Default Re: Is the ball out?

    Pre season 2018-19, I attended a couple of meetings where the (June 2018) conference clarifications were communicated with videos.
    We were advised that "if the ball is clearly exposed the ruck is deemed over. That's a variation to 15.17 / 15.18 / 15.9 which describe the conditions for ending a ruck"
    The videos showed rucks where competing players had all gone off feet, the ball was at the back of the ruck with the 9 about to pick it up. In the video, a defender was penalised for going through the ex-ruck and putting his hands on the ball. We were then told that , this season, that defender should not be penalised and, whilst the defender must not engage the 9, he can pickup the ball.
    This seems related in that the implication is that we should discourage negative time-wasting with the ball at the back of the ruck and encourage the 9 to play it away with more urgency.
    https://www.londonrugby.com/training...18-focus-areas

  8. #48

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,786
    Thanks (Received)
    135
    Likes (Received)
    1192
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Is the ball out?

    Quote Originally Posted by Rich_NL View Post
    Definitions: Near
    Thanks

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  9. #49

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,957
    Thanks (Received)
    131
    Likes (Received)
    1624

    Default Re: Is the ball out?


    Pre season 2018-19, I attended a couple of meetings where the (June 2018) conference clarifications were communicated with videos.
    We were advised that "if the ball is clearly exposed the ruck is deemed over. That's a variation to 15.17 / 15.18 / 15.9 which describe the conditions for ending a ruck
    Everyone seems to have completely forgotten about that though .. I haven't heard it mentioned since September, has anyone else ?
    Last edited by crossref; 08-03-19 at 13:03.

  10. #50

    Referees in Australia
    menace's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    ACTRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    20 Nov 09
    Posts
    3,533
    Thanks (Received)
    59
    Likes (Received)
    481
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Is the ball out?

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Everyone seems to have completely forgotten about that though .. I haven't heard it mentioned since September, has anyone else ?
    At the risk of starting yet another symantics war, personally I didnt need a clarrification saying that a ball that was clear of bodies (exposed) meant the ruck was over?? How you forget something that is already that obvious is beyond me.
    Why WR even had to issue it was perplexing but I imagine it was more to help explain to players that "hands on" doea not always mean it's out?!
    Tell em it's Law 23 and smile

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •