Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst 12345
Results 41 to 48 of 48

Thread: offside after knock on

      
  1. #41
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cardiff Society of Welsh Rugby Union Referees
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    05 Jan 18
    Posts
    1,067
    Thanks (Received)
    12
    Likes (Received)
    216

    Default Re: offside after knock on

    Quote Originally Posted by nhughes View Post
    Forgive my simplicity here but seeing as the ball was knocked on by green 14 why does it matter that green 7 was offside or not? To my mind it's a penalty for a knock on instead of offside as given. Sorry but a bit lost as to what the problem is other than giving a penalty instead of a scrum?
    An unintentional Knock on is a scrum offence. Law 19.1 First item in the matrix.

  2. #42

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,226
    Thanks (Received)
    122
    Likes (Received)
    1558

    Default Re: offside after knock on

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Of course they do
    Quote Originally Posted by Marc Wakeham View Post
    Of course they do.
    I am enjoying being on Marc's ignore list
    Last edited by crossref; 3 Weeks Ago at 23:02.

  3. #43

    Referees in Australia
    menace's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    ACTRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    20 Nov 09
    Posts
    3,505
    Thanks (Received)
    57
    Likes (Received)
    461
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: offside after knock on

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    I am enjoying being on Marc's ignore list
    Why do i get the sense that the feelings would be mutual???
    Tell em it's Law 23 and smile

  4. #44

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,226
    Thanks (Received)
    122
    Likes (Received)
    1558

    Default Re: offside after knock on

    Quote Originally Posted by menace View Post
    Why do i get the sense that the feelings would be mutual???
    but marc won't quite know what happened !

  5. #45
    Rugby Club Member Treadmore's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Dorchester
    Grade
    Coach Colts/ELRA 1&2
    Join Date
    11 Nov 08
    Posts
    287
    Thanks (Received)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    24

    Default Re: offside after knock on

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    Green 7 didn't participate in the lineout. He was in the centres. It looks pretty clear to me that when the knock on occurred he was behind the player who knocks on. What happens after that has no bearing.
    Ref appears to indicate the with left arm that the ball when backwards at the time and then after blowing whistle explains "bounced forward, you were offside"

    Doesn't change the discussion around green 7 being onside (he was) just interested that everyone in the thread has called it a knock-on when the ref didn't...

  6. #46

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,381
    Thanks (Received)
    55
    Likes (Received)
    848

    Default Re: offside after knock on

    Quote Originally Posted by ChuckieB View Post
    Do coaches have the mindset to coach , "If a ball is knocked on, kill it."? This will immediately and deliberately deny the chance of any advantage.

    Just asking. Doesn't seem wholly equitable perhaps?
    If it helps I don't. But TBH I think that is potentially already in the mindset of most players. And if not kill it particular;ly its there to "claim the ball". Its a commendation of many players understanding and reactions that mostly they understand when they are potentially offside from a knock on and do NOT claim the ball. IME. YMMV.

    didds

  7. #47

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,226
    Thanks (Received)
    122
    Likes (Received)
    1558

    Default Re: offside after knock on

    The coaching message is : play to the whistle .

  8. #48
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    24 Nov 18
    Posts
    36
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    2

    Default Re: offside after knock on

    Quote Originally Posted by Taff View Post
    Yes, it does matter if Green 7 was offside or not.

    If he wasn't offside then it's just a scrum as you suggest for an accidental knock on.

    If he was offside and played the ball, then it's a Penalty kick (PK) offence for being offside and playing the ball.
    Thanks that answered my question clearly.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •