Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28

Thread: More than one offence by the same team

      
  1. #1

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,692
    Thanks (Received)
    137
    Likes (Received)
    1743

    Default More than one offence by the same team

    Switching to the Laws forum, for a more general debate than the thread which raised this


    What happens when Red commit more than one PK offence ?

    This was subject to a Law Trial last year and then in May 2018 the law was changed



    Jan 2018
    7.2.d The offending team commits a second infringement from which no advantage can be gained. The referee stops play and applies the appropriate and more advantageous sanction (either tactically or territorially).


    May 2018 Law Change
    7.2.d The offending team commits a second or subsequent infringement from which no advantage can be gained. The referee stops play and allows the captain of the non-offending team to choose the most advantageous sanction.



    (note this is not a rewrite thing, there was a global trial resulting in a law change )

    So in another thread about two simultaneous offences people were very reluctant to offer a choice, and wanted to penalise the most material offence (which is not actually the old Law either )


    So my general question is : in what circumstances do people feel that the new 7.2.d does not apply ? And why ?

    For me it's very straightforward .. two offences : non offending team get a choice
    Last edited by crossref; 28-02-19 at 07:02.

  2. #2

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,883
    Thanks (Received)
    158
    Likes (Received)
    1286
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: More than one offence by the same team

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    For me it's very straightforward .. two offences : non offending team get a choice
    Only if you are playing advantage from the first offence.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  3. #3

    Referees in England
    Balones's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leics
    Grade
    NP Performance Reviewer
    Join Date
    24 Oct 06
    Posts
    746
    Thanks (Received)
    31
    Likes (Received)
    192

    Default Re: More than one offence by the same team

    CR - It seems to me that you are ignoring the possibility of simultaneous offending.
    Six players offside under 10M law. You would give an option?
    Four players never on side from last breakdown. Who do you penalise?
    As Phil E says, only if you play advantage can you give an option. Also only if they offend with a different penalty I would say and not the same one as the one you are playing advantage from.
    Last edited by Balones; 28-02-19 at 10:02.

  4. #4
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Rugby Nederland
    Grade
    WR level 2
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    1,179
    Thanks (Received)
    18
    Likes (Received)
    316

    Default Re: More than one offence by the same team

    The thread was a question about offside, I think that explains a lot of the reluctance.

    It's very rare to see simultaneous offences in materially different parts of the field - partly because they tend to happen around the ball, partly timing, partly because as a ref youre likely to miss one, being focussed on the other.

    As an example, though, you might see kick chasers coming up and both being obstructed by a flat line of defenders. In that case, I'd offer the options.

  5. #5

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,883
    Thanks (Received)
    158
    Likes (Received)
    1286
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: More than one offence by the same team

    Quote Originally Posted by Balones View Post
    CR - It seems to me that you are ignoring the possibility of simultaneous offending.
    Six players offside under 10M law. You would give an option?
    This is specifically covered in law, which gives you an dea of how the law makers were intending it to be policed.

    Extract from Law 10.4c

    If this involves more than one player, then the player closest to where the ball lands or is caught is the one penalised.


    No mention of a choice, that is only covered in Law 7.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  6. #6

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,692
    Thanks (Received)
    137
    Likes (Received)
    1743

    Default Re: More than one offence by the same team

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil E View Post
    Only if you are playing advantage from the first offence.
    You must have , otherwise you would have blown your whistle
    Last edited by crossref; 28-02-19 at 11:02.

  7. #7

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,692
    Thanks (Received)
    137
    Likes (Received)
    1743

    Default Re: More than one offence by the same team

    Quote Originally Posted by Balones View Post
    CR - It seems to me that you are ignoring the possibility of simultaneous offending..
    7.2.d covers both simultaneous and subsequent

    It says, specifically a "second OR subsequent" offence

  8. #8

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,883
    Thanks (Received)
    158
    Likes (Received)
    1286
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: More than one offence by the same team

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    You must have , otherwise you would have blown your whistle
    You are only playing advantage if you have said and indicated so.
    Otherwise it just means you didn’t see it or are ignoring it.

    But this question arose from the other thread where more than one person was offside at the same time and you blow up. You cannot offer the non offending team a choice of places for the penalty because you weren’t playing advantage.

    If you are playing advantage then the law is very clear on what options are available if a second offence or second advantage occurs.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  9. #9

    Referees in England
    Balones's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leics
    Grade
    NP Performance Reviewer
    Join Date
    24 Oct 06
    Posts
    746
    Thanks (Received)
    31
    Likes (Received)
    192

    Default Re: More than one offence by the same team

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil E View Post
    This is specifically covered in law, which gives you an dea of how the law makers were intending it to be policed.

    Extract from Law 10.4c

    If this involves more than one player, then the player closest to where the ball lands or is caught is the one penalised.


    No mention of a choice, that is only covered in Law 7.
    Spoil sport! I was going to pull that one out of the hat depending on how CR responded.

  10. #10

    Referees in England
    Balones's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leics
    Grade
    NP Performance Reviewer
    Join Date
    24 Oct 06
    Posts
    746
    Thanks (Received)
    31
    Likes (Received)
    192

    Default Re: More than one offence by the same team

    In the original post in the other thread you would see three players offside. You would play an advantage and see what would happen. Once you are playing advantage the winger (or centre) who is originally offside is now in an onside position in open play so will be allowed to tackle. It is not an offence unless the tackle was illegal. In the latter situation you would give an option. It is what happens before the tackle that is penalised. I.E. rushed pass etc, early half tackle by the 10 which still allows the ball to be moved away etc.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •