So, summary --
There is a new (May 2018) Law - 7.2.d
7.2.d The offending team commits a second or subsequent infringement from which no advantage can be gained. The referee stops play and allows the captain of the non-offending team to choose the most advantageous sanction.
and I asked : are there any circumstances when you would NOT apply that Law
Great answers -- thanks all.
the themes were
1 - when only one of the offences was material.
Agreed. But then there is only really
one offence, so that's not really the point of my question
2 - when one of the offences wasn't really an offence (like the winger who may be offside, but wasn't interefering with play)
Agreed. But But then there is only really
one offence, so that's not really the point of my question
3 - when the two offences are offside under the 10m Law - because 10.4c actually tells you which player to penalise
Agreed, that's definitely an exception
4 - when the two offences are both any kind of offside offence, because then 7.2.d doesn't apply
But there is nothing in the Law to suggest why this should the case. Rejected
5 - when the two offences are simultaneous
But the Law specifically covers this : it mentions a second OR subsequent offence. So it specifically covers simultaneous or subsequent offences. Rejected
6 - Because across all the years we've been reffing using we've never followed 7.2.d before
But that's because 7.2.d is NEW Law -- Rejected