Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 29

Thread: plane of the goal-line

      
  1. #11

    Referees in Wales
    tewdric's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Gwent
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    18 Sep 18
    Posts
    176
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    42

    Default Re: plane of the goal-line

    But they are in goal when they catch it, so haven't taken it in.

  2. #12
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    28 Feb 17
    Posts
    1,050
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    108
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: plane of the goal-line

    Was part of the law clarification guidelines 5-2016 that arose from the changes to touch definitions

  3. #13
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    973
    Thanks (Received)
    24
    Likes (Received)
    196

    Default Re: plane of the goal-line

    Quote Originally Posted by tewdric View Post
    But they are in goal when they catch it, so haven't taken it in.
    They are in goal but the ball was not when caught/picked up so they have taken it back. 5m scrum

  4. #14
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    983
    Thanks (Received)
    22
    Likes (Received)
    240

    Default Re: plane of the goal-line

    Quote Originally Posted by tewdric View Post
    But they are in goal when they catch it, so haven't taken it in.
    Same as touch, if your foot is on the line you are deemed to have taken it into touch, not your ball, same logic here

  5. #15
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    973
    Thanks (Received)
    24
    Likes (Received)
    196

    Default Re: plane of the goal-line

    I suspect (given the original poster)and the fact that the question mentions that the ball was still in motion that the Law Exam site is outdated and incorrect and a point is being made to reinforce an argument being made elsewhere! !

  6. #16

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    18,461
    Thanks (Received)
    165
    Likes (Received)
    1930

    Default Re: plane of the goal-line

    Quote Originally Posted by Decorily View Post
    I suspect (given the original poster)and the fact that the question mentions that the ball was still in motion that the Law Exam site is outdated and incorrect and a point is being made to reinforce an argument being made elsewhere! !
    well, also, before accusing WR of a mistake, I wanted to be double sure that what I thought was the answer (5m scrum) was actually the correct one..

    it is , and WR have made a mistake
    Last edited by crossref; 03-03-19 at 18:03.

  7. #17

    Referees in Wales
    tewdric's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Gwent
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    18 Sep 18
    Posts
    176
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    42

    Default Re: plane of the goal-line

    The law still says if any part of a player is in goal then they are regarded as being in goal. They can't have taken it in by that logic so the "natural justice" common sense decision of rewarding the skill and accuracy with a 22 is surely the right one?

  8. #18
    Rugby Club Member Treadmore's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Dorchester
    Grade
    Coach Colts/ELRA 1&2
    Join Date
    11 Nov 08
    Posts
    376
    Thanks (Received)
    6
    Likes (Received)
    40

    Default Re: plane of the goal-line

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    is that what you think the right answer is, or what you guess the law exam says ?
    I had to fudge the answer to pass that section ;-)

  9. #19
    Rugby Club Member Treadmore's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Dorchester
    Grade
    Coach Colts/ELRA 1&2
    Join Date
    11 Nov 08
    Posts
    376
    Thanks (Received)
    6
    Likes (Received)
    40

    Default Re: plane of the goal-line

    Quote Originally Posted by tewdric View Post
    The law still says if any part of a player is in goal then they are regarded as being in goal. They can't have taken it in by that logic so the "natural justice" common sense decision of rewarding the skill and accuracy with a 22 is surely the right one?
    Or reward the skill and accuracy of the kicker who didn’t put it in-goal?

  10. #20

    Referees in Ireland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    25 May 16
    Posts
    525
    Thanks (Received)
    9
    Likes (Received)
    51

    Default Re: plane of the goal-line

    Quote Originally Posted by tewdric View Post
    The law still says if any part of a player is in goal then they are regarded as being in goal. They can't have taken it in by that logic so the "natural justice" common sense decision of rewarding the skill and accuracy with a 22 is surely the right one?

    Hi tewdric.
    The player being ( in goal ) .
    Is not the same as the ball being ( in goal )

    If a defender with 1 foot in goal / on goal line & 1 foot in field of play .
    He is deemed to be in goal .
    If he catches or picks up a ball that has not crossed the goal line .
    That same player , if he decides to ground the ball in goal ,
    He is deemed to of taken the ball into in goal .
    This is what the law states .

    As a referee , i would suggest not to use rewarding a skill set of a player or team .
    As a thought process of what makes natural justice / common sense.
    Its easier to use the laws .

    The only time this is different . ( the law bit )
    Is if a player making a mark from opponents kick , inside his own 22 with 1 foot other side of 22.
    If this ball is caught .( before it crosses the 22 )
    It is deemed to be caught inside his 22 & therefore he can now have a 22 drop out .
    Hope that helps .
    Last edited by Christy; 03-03-19 at 19:03.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •