Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 51

Thread: another indadvertant touchdown

      
  1. #1

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,221
    Thanks (Received)
    122
    Likes (Received)
    1555

    Default another indadvertant touchdown

    Bath scrum half reaches into the ruck and rolls the ball towards himself.

    The ball makes contact with the goal line

    Quins 9 runs round, reaches into the ex-ruck, and presses down on the ball for a try.


    They TMO it and the verdict is ...
    ... that the Bath player had already inadvertently touched down for a 5m scrum (even though he didn't know he had)


    77mins on the game clock
    https://www.premiershiprugby.com/vid...uins-round-15/

    i
    Last edited by crossref; 2 Weeks Ago at 21:03.

  2. #2
    Rugby Club Member Treadmore's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Dorchester
    Grade
    Coach Colts/ELRA 1&2
    Join Date
    11 Nov 08
    Posts
    287
    Thanks (Received)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    24

    Default Re: another indadvertant touchdown

    TMO says the Quins player didn’t touch it down. Refs explanation afterwards is a bit odd - not clear from what we see that it is the case - but seemed an equitable way to restart.

  3. #3

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,221
    Thanks (Received)
    122
    Likes (Received)
    1555

    Default Re: another indadvertant touchdown

    Quote Originally Posted by Treadmore View Post
    TMO says the Quins player didn’t touch it down. Refs explanation afterwards is a bit odd - not clear from what we see that it is the case - but seemed an equitable way to restart.
    I don't think the idea of an inadvertent touchdown even occured to the TMO - didn't cross his mind, he was busy looking at the possible offside and try .

    The ref sees an inadvertent touch down, so he doesn't care about the Quins scrum half

  4. #4
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    562
    Thanks (Received)
    8
    Likes (Received)
    112

    Default Re: another indadvertant touchdown

    Don’t think anyone actually grounded the ball there, Quinn’s player missed and Bath were in the process of picking it up (which is not grounding) so scrum 5 seems fair

  5. #5

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,221
    Thanks (Received)
    122
    Likes (Received)
    1555

    Default Re: another indadvertant touchdown

    Quote Originally Posted by Flish View Post
    Don’t think anyone actually grounded the ball there, Quinn’s player missed and Bath were in the process of picking it up (which is not grounding) so scrum 5 seems fair
    But having reached that judgement, you would give a scrum to the defending team , right ?

  6. #6
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    OXON
    Grade
    Level 15 - 11
    Join Date
    01 Oct 17
    Posts
    21
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    1

    Default Re: another indadvertant touchdown

    same than France Scotland game.. see my previous post. I still disagree. Defense didnt ground but place the ball IMHO, but the consensus was it is the same thing scrum 5 attacking team

  7. #7
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    28 Feb 17
    Posts
    1,016
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    101
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: another indadvertant touchdown

    I think it was evident, or could be argued at least, that the bath player brought the ball back to the plane of the line, there or thereabouts, without touching it down, the Quinn's player, then failed to touch it down and the Bath player then made an adjustment to ensure he did then touch it down.

    As such it would have been the right call albeit more by luck than absolute clear lines of communication between MC and TMO. As it was in over the plane the Quinn's half wouldn't have been offside. He was just unlucky with his attempt.

  8. #8

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,221
    Thanks (Received)
    122
    Likes (Received)
    1555

    Default Re: another indadvertant touchdown

    So the interesting Law point might be .. does rolling the ball toward yourself , and on to the line , constitute a touch down ?



    In Law I think not .. it is neither holding it 21.1.a nor pressing down on it 21.1.b

    So IMO if the quins player hadnt missed the ball it would have been a try
    Last edited by crossref; 2 Weeks Ago at 07:03.

  9. #9
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    562
    Thanks (Received)
    8
    Likes (Received)
    112

    Default Re: another indadvertant touchdown

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    But having reached that judgement, you would give a scrum to the defending team , right ?
    Erm, no, I think I'd go attacking ball as think Bath took it back (loosely in possession in the ex ruck) and equally Quins were the team going forward. Decide upon which ever reason for awarding the scrum you see fit

  10. #10
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    562
    Thanks (Received)
    8
    Likes (Received)
    112

    Default Re: another indadvertant touchdown

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    So the interesting Law point might be .. does rolling the ball toward yourself , and on to the line , constitute a touch down ?



    In Law I think not .. it is neither holding it 21.1.a nor pressing down on it 21.1.b

    So IMO if the quins player hadnt missed the ball it would have been a try
    I think so, yes, although there are elements of similarity to the Wasps vs Saints (I think) in terms of inadvertent rough down and we (I) talked about intent a lot. I think it's a lot easier to argue that Bath didn't touch down here

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •