Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 58

Thread: Player goes to ground. Can you award a try ?

      
  1. #11
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Rugby Nederland
    Grade
    WR level 2
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    1,181
    Thanks (Received)
    18
    Likes (Received)
    316

    Default Re: Player goes to ground. Can you award a try ?

    As described (he contacts the ball with his shin), I took it to be C&O intentional. Why on earth else do you slide in legs-first to get to the ball?

    But let's take it as accidental:

    He's going to ground and attempting to gain control of the ball, then that counts as possession.

    He loses possession and the ball goes forward.

    Scrum blue.

  2. #12

    Referees in America
    thepercy's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    New York State Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    21 Sep 13
    Posts
    743
    Thanks (Received)
    15
    Likes (Received)
    118

    Default Re: Player goes to ground. Can you award a try ?

    Quote Originally Posted by collybs View Post
    But as he slid in towards the ball (which presumably was not moving about) I would say he played the ball rather than the ball bouncing off him.
    Players that go to ground to gather the ball, are entitled to play the ball, and as defined a kick requires intention. So if a player goes to ground in an attempt to gather the ball but messes it up and the ball bounces off their shin, or any other body part, except hand or arms, even forward, then it is play on and then a try. If the player goes to ground to gather the ball, and intentionally kicks it, like a slide tackle in soccer, then it is a PK against. I do not think is a knock on, the player did not have possession and lose it forward, nor did the player hit the ball forward with hand(s) or arm(s).
    Last edited by thepercy; 06-03-19 at 18:03.

  3. #13
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Rugby Nederland
    Grade
    WR level 2
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    1,181
    Thanks (Received)
    18
    Likes (Received)
    316

    Default Re: Player goes to ground. Can you award a try ?

    What definition of possession are you using?

  4. #14

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,699
    Thanks (Received)
    137
    Likes (Received)
    1744

    Default Re: Player goes to ground. Can you award a try ?

    .Possession: An individual or team in control of the ball or who are attempting to bring it
    under control

  5. #15

    Referees in Australia
    menace's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    ACTRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    20 Nov 09
    Posts
    3,548
    Thanks (Received)
    60
    Likes (Received)
    485
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Player goes to ground. Can you award a try ?

    On the presumption the player is going to ground to gather the ball and it happens to hit off his shin ...then I'm awarding a try for this scenario.
    It may not look right, it may even look ugly...but can't see any infringement here.
    Tell em it's Law 23 and smile

  6. #16

    Referees in England
    chbg's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    D&WRURS, HRURS & ARURS
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    15 May 09
    Posts
    989
    Thanks (Received)
    27
    Likes (Received)
    181

    Default Re: Player goes to ground. Can you award a try ?

    Another one when you just have to sell your decision as you see it at the time. Try, unless there is a C&O offence. But if you think that it was a kick, then that's you explanation for penalising.
    Be reasonable - do it my way.

  7. #17

    Referees in Scotland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    20 Dec 17
    Posts
    463
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    112

    Default Re: Player goes to ground. Can you award a try ?

    Quote Originally Posted by chbg View Post
    Another one when you just have to sell your decision as you see it at the time. Try, unless there is a C&O offence. But if you think that it was a kick, then that's you explanation for penalising.
    Good answer, the bit about selling it is an underrated part of refereeing. Explain clearly why you have given your decision and it is difficult for anyone to argue with you (well, more difficult anyway!). Clear, concise explanations can take a lot of frustration out of the game and should be used more frequently by referees as a management tool.

  8. #18

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,699
    Thanks (Received)
    137
    Likes (Received)
    1744

    Default Re: Player goes to ground. Can you award a try ?

    But Sir, you are being legalistic !

  9. #19

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,667
    Thanks (Received)
    63
    Likes (Received)
    930

    Default Re: Player goes to ground. Can you award a try ?

    Quote Originally Posted by DocY View Post
    I think I'd have to see it.
    As others have said, kicking the ball on the ground is an offence, but I think it could have also been a knock on: if the player was trying to bring the ball under control (which would make him in possession) and it went forward. .
    but only of the ball hit an arm/hand though surely? you cant have a knock on off only the shin surely? Otherwise eg fly hacking or kicking on in a chase would be a knock on ?

    didds

  10. #20

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,667
    Thanks (Received)
    63
    Likes (Received)
    930

    Default Re: Player goes to ground. Can you award a try ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Rich_NL View Post
    As described (he contacts the ball with his shin), I took it to be C&O intentional. Why on earth else do you slide in legs-first to get to the ball?

    But let's take it as accidental:

    He's going to ground and attempting to gain control of the ball, then that counts as possession.

    He loses possession and the ball goes forward.

    Scrum blue.
    without the ball touching his arms or hands? really? That's the second such claim Ive seen in this thread - and now I'm now wondering if there is some nuance on the KO laws that Ive missed entirely after all these years (or since the rewrite! :-)

    didds

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •