Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Reaching Over in the Maul

      
  1. #1

    New Member


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    Beginner, not graded yet
    Join Date
    09 Mar 19
    Posts
    3
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default Reaching Over in the Maul

    I’m a new ref, appreciate some guidance on this point. To what extent can a defender who is ‘caught in’ to the centre of a maul, reach over to try to rip the ball, ie one arm or two?

  2. #2

    Referees in Ireland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    25 May 16
    Posts
    525
    Thanks (Received)
    9
    Likes (Received)
    51

    Default Re: Reaching Over in the Maul

    He can try & rip ball from an opposition player ..
    As you describe caught in middle of maul .

    But remember , this same player can only allow a team mate of his , to receive ball.
    Providing his team mate player is attached to himself ..

    So he can over reach to take ball from opposition .
    But cant over reach his team mates , to put ball at back of his side of maul

  3. #3
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    767
    Thanks (Received)
    16
    Likes (Received)
    150

    Default Re: Reaching Over in the Maul

    Quote Originally Posted by Christy View Post
    But cant over reach his team mates , to put ball at back of his side of maul
    Why not?

  4. #4
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    767
    Thanks (Received)
    16
    Likes (Received)
    150

    Default Re: Reaching Over in the Maul

    Quote Originally Posted by RickG View Post
    I’m a new ref, appreciate some guidance on this point. To what extent can a defender who is ‘caught in’ to the centre of a maul, reach over to try to rip the ball, ie one arm or two?
    Just be aware in a scenario like this that the 'reacher' is not climbing on top of other players to do so.

  5. #5

    Referees in Ireland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    25 May 16
    Posts
    525
    Thanks (Received)
    9
    Likes (Received)
    51

    Default Re: Reaching Over in the Maul

    Quote Originally Posted by Decorily View Post
    Why not?
    I believe its called long arm placements / similar .
    Its been a penaly for last couple of seasons .
    So they guy in middle can reach over & take ball from opposition ( who would be in front of him ).

    But he can only pass the ball , to his own team mate , who is bound to him self also .

    So a long arm placement to his team mate ( he stretches over 1 player & gives to player further back )
    This is now a penalty .
    I beleive there are videos on world rugby web page ..

  6. #6
    Rugby Club Member Treadmore's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Dorchester
    Grade
    Coach Colts/ELRA 1&2
    Join Date
    11 Nov 08
    Posts
    335
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    29

    Default Re: Reaching Over in the Maul

    Quote Originally Posted by Christy View Post
    I believe its called long arm placements / similar .
    Its been a penaly for last couple of seasons .
    So they guy in middle can reach over & take ball from opposition ( who would be in front of him ).

    But he can only pass the ball , to his own team mate , who is bound to him self also .

    So a long arm placement to his team mate ( he stretches over 1 player & gives to player further back )
    This is now a penalty .
    I beleive there are videos on world rugby web page ..

    Laws guideline from 2016

    it is worded oddly:

    Long placements are to be avoided as they often lead to obstruction and invite attacking players to join in front of the ball. In the future this will be PENALISED


    we've had laws re-writes etc since then and nothing to formalise this extant guideline

  7. #7
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    767
    Thanks (Received)
    16
    Likes (Received)
    150

    Default Re: Reaching Over in the Maul

    My understanding of the 'long placement ' is that it's only applicable at the initial formation of the maul.
    In OP the maul is already formed.

    I stand to be corrected! !

  8. #8
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    817
    Thanks (Received)
    12
    Likes (Received)
    184

    Default Re: Reaching Over in the Maul

    If he’s bound in, and can reach the ball then he can absolutely try to rip it, as soon as he becomes unbound then he needs to get out.

  9. #9

    New Member


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    Beginner, not graded yet
    Join Date
    09 Mar 19
    Posts
    3
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default Re: Reaching Over in the Maul

    Thanks fellas, that’s pretty clear now, but can the bound/caught in defender use two arms to reach over or must he keep one arm bound to team mate!

  10. #10
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    817
    Thanks (Received)
    12
    Likes (Received)
    184

    Default Re: Reaching Over in the Maul

    If he’s bound then he has to maintain that bind (and can’t swap arms), so one arm only. If caught in then can use both

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •