Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: IRE - FRA YC when playing advantage?

      
  1. #1

    Referees in Scotland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    20 Dec 17
    Posts
    344
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    76

    Default IRE - FRA YC when playing advantage?

    Towards the end of the first half the referee gave a warning to the French captain about offences around the maul and ruck near the French line, saying he would have to YC the next offence. Cue another maul and another French side entry - advantage Ireland. Now if the referee had blown for the penalty he would have YC'd a French player. In this instance, the Irish took the advantage and Sexton scored a try.

    Should the referee now also YC the offending French player?

    In football referees will frequently go back an YC when they have played advantage (although it rarely happens if a goal has been scored from the advantage but that might be due to football having less scores than rugby).

  2. #2

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,226
    Thanks (Received)
    122
    Likes (Received)
    1558

    Default Re: IRE - FRA YC when playing advantage?

    I have , on occasion , played advantage, awarded a try, and then gone back and YC the player anyway .

    (on other occasions not )

  3. #3

    Referees in Holland


    Soc/Assoc
    NRB
    Grade
    IRB level 2
    Join Date
    15 Oct 11
    Posts
    922
    Thanks (Received)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    47

    Default Re: IRE - FRA YC when playing advantage?

    Hmmm, it's a very interesting point you raise here.

    We often see this happening in the situation whereby the ref awards the Penalty Try, but when the try is scored in open play we more than often see no card.

    To be honest, I wasn't thinking yellow should have come since there was no material effect of the last French infringement, Ireland went on to score the try almost under the posts.

  4. #4
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    24 Nov 18
    Posts
    36
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    2

    Default Re: IRE - FRA YC when playing advantage?

    I think the French tight head should have gotten a yellow for repeated infringementd close to goal and yes the ref should gave done it after the try, bit of a cop out by the ref, odd situation where conceding a try worked to France's advantage.

  5. #5

    Referees in England
    beckett50's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    East Midlands
    Grade
    Level 6
    Join Date
    31 Jan 04
    Posts
    2,228
    Thanks (Received)
    12
    Likes (Received)
    113

    Default Re: IRE - FRA YC when playing advantage?

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    I have , on occasion , played advantage, awarded a try, and then gone back and YC the player anyway .

    (on other occasions not )
    As have I.

    Interesting that it was once queried by an assessor. I explained that - as in the OP - had their been no Advantage taken then we'd have come back for the original offence and a , so why I should the offending team not have to suffer the consequences for 10 minutes? His answer was to just say "Well, it is the first time that I have seen it happen"


    I only started considering it having seen Roy Maybank do it at a Premiership match with the words "You know what you did."
    --------------------

    https://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=691560798


    "Listen, or your tongue will make you deaf" Native American Proverb

    Vanillaisforicecream

  6. #6

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,381
    Thanks (Received)
    55
    Likes (Received)
    848

    Default Re: IRE - FRA YC when playing advantage?

    Quote Originally Posted by Zebra1922 View Post
    Towards the end of the first half the referee gave a warning to the French captain about offences around the maul and ruck near the French line, saying he would have to YC the next offence. Cue another maul and another French side entry - advantage Ireland. Now if the referee had blown for the penalty he would have YC'd a French player. In this instance, the Irish took the advantage and Sexton scored a try.

    Should the referee now also YC the offending French player?
    I recall thinking exactly that at the time.

    didds

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •