Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: law 18: receiver in the lineout

      
  1. #1
    Rugby Club Member mallo's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    National Panel
    Join Date
    15 Oct 15
    Posts
    2
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default law 18: receiver in the lineout

    Law 18: May the receiver still move into the lineout?

  2. #2
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cardiff Society of Welsh Rugby Union Referees
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    05 Jan 18
    Posts
    1,280
    Thanks (Received)
    17
    Likes (Received)
    259

    Default Re: law 18: receiver in the lineout

    Yes he or she may do so.

  3. #3
    Rugby Club Member mallo's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    National Panel
    Join Date
    15 Oct 15
    Posts
    2
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default Riferimento: Re: law 18: receiver in the lineout

    Thanks for your very quick reply.
    I had posed the problem because in the new version of the laws the article that gave the receiver the opportunity to enter the alignment disappeared: Law 19 (i) Once the line-out has commenced, the receiver may move into the line-out and may perform any of the actions available to players in the line-out and is liable to related sanctions.
    In the actual law 18 there is no longer this article. Is it still possible to make such a movement?

  4. #4

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,091
    Thanks (Received)
    135
    Likes (Received)
    1645

    Default Re: law 18: receiver in the lineout

    18.18 Participating players may change places in the lineout before the ball is thrown.

  5. #5

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,906
    Thanks (Received)
    34
    Likes (Received)
    333

    Default Re: Riferimento: Re: law 18: receiver in the lineout

    Quote Originally Posted by mallo View Post
    ... I had posed the problem because in the new version of the laws the article that gave the receiver the opportunity to enter the alignment disappeared: Law 19 (i) Once the line-out has commenced, the receiver may move into the line-out and may perform any of the actions available to players in the line-out and is liable to related sanctions. In the actual law 18 there is no longer this article. Is it still possible to make such a movement?
    I would say yes, as there are no law changes.

  6. #6

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,298
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1276

    Default Re: law 18: receiver in the lineout

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    18.18 Participating players may change places in the lineout before the ball is thrown.
    but can the receiver move in without a changer, after the ball is thrown?
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  7. #7

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,806
    Thanks (Received)
    141
    Likes (Received)
    1224
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: law 18: receiver in the lineout

    As I read it.

    Before the throw. Receiver may join the lineout as long as someone else drops out.

    After the throw. Receiver may join the lineout.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •