Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Italian Disallowed Try v France

      
  1. #1

    Probationer Member


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    None
    Join Date
    18 Mar 19
    Posts
    1
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default Italian Disallowed Try v France

    Fan not referee, so forgive me if these are obvious.


    The law on knock-ons states:


    • The ball is not knocked-on, and play continues, if:
      • A player knocks the ball forward immediately after an opponent has kicked it (charge down).
      • A player rips or knocks the ball from an opponent and the ball goes forward from the opponent's hand or arm.



    I would have thought the second of these clearly describes what happened when Penaud knocked the ball out of Zanon's hands. Zanon then fell on it and grounded it, so if there was no knock-on then it was a good try. Yet no-one batted an eyelid when the referee disallowed it on review ... am I missing something?


    While I'm at it, as a new poster: (1) what on earth happened to the dictat about crooked scrum feeds - there wasn't a straight one all weekend, and (2) why does the referee not stop the clock when lecturing the front rows about how he wants them to scrummage BEFORE the scrum first sets - I can understand (somewhat) not stopping it for a reset, but why not in this case?

    Thanks in advance for the information.

  2. #2
    Player or Coach ChrisR's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Jul 10
    Posts
    3,188
    Thanks (Received)
    31
    Likes (Received)
    306

    Default Re: Italian Disallowed Try v France

    Agree, not a KO and try should have been awarded. Quite clear in the PlanetRugby hi-lites but was it available to the TMO?

    Squint feeds at the scrum? What's that?

    . . . . and welcome to the forum.

  3. #3

    Referees in England
    Balones's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leics
    Grade
    NP Performance Reviewer
    Join Date
    24 Oct 06
    Posts
    669
    Thanks (Received)
    29
    Likes (Received)
    163

    Default Re: Italian Disallowed Try v France

    I will repeat my post from the other thread on this incident.

    My initial opinion was that the referee had got it wrong because as far as I was concerned it was hit backwards and out of the hands of the ball carrier by the tackler and it should have been play on. However, in replay you can see that after the knock back you can see the ball definitely hit the ball carrier’s forearm before it hit the ground. Therefore knock on, correct call.

  4. #4

    Referees in America
    Rank Bajin!
    SimonSmith's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Virginia (USA)
    Grade
    B3
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    8,292
    Thanks (Received)
    48
    Likes (Received)
    696

    Default Re: Italian Disallowed Try v France

    There's a fuller discussion in my Italy/France thread
    The object of life is not to be on the side of the majority, but to escape finding oneself in the ranks of the insane.
    Marcus Aurelius

    Man may do as he will; he may not will what he wills
    Arthur Schopenhauer

    Tullamore Dew, the Afghan Wigs, and many, many strippers - how to get over your ex. How true.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •