Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 14 of 14

Thread: Turning maul

      
  1. #11

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,701
    Thanks (Received)
    128
    Likes (Received)
    1124
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Turning maul

    Quote Originally Posted by didds View Post
    This has always been my understanding - join a maul illegallty and as long as you dont swim through the middle (though that's closer to be being legal ) or around the outside you are always legal wherever you end up.
    To be greeted by shouts of "how did he get there" and the defence trying to pull him out of the maul!

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  2. #12

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,415
    Thanks (Received)
    56
    Likes (Received)
    859

    Default Re: Turning maul

    Quote Originally Posted by didds View Post
    This has always been my understanding - join a maul LEGALLY and as long as you don't swim through the middle (though that's closer to be being legal ) or around the outside you are always legal wherever you end up.

    sorry - typo corrected

    didds

  3. #13
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    KSRFUR
    Grade
    Level 15 - 11
    Join Date
    11 Apr 18
    Posts
    224
    Thanks (Received)
    8
    Likes (Received)
    54

    Default Re: Turning maul

    I though going through the middle was fine, as in that scenario the 'swimmer' is caught in to the maul.

    All players in a maul must be caught in or bound to it and not just alongside it.

  4. #14
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    620
    Thanks (Received)
    12
    Likes (Received)
    110

    Default Re: Turning maul

    Quote Originally Posted by mcroker View Post
    I though going through the middle was fine, as in that scenario the 'swimmer' is caught in to the maul.

    All players in a maul must be caught in or bound to it and not just alongside it.
    Well if he is going through the centre and is caught in then he is not a 'swimmer' as I understand it.
    'Swimmers' move up the side by having 1 arm bound at all times but change the bind/arm as they go.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •