Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Keith earls first try

      
  1. #1

    ELRA/Club Referee


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    08 Nov 18
    Posts
    80
    Thanks (Received)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    25

    Default Keith earls first try

    I saw most of the Edinburgh v Munster game at the weekend but didn't see Keith Earls' 1st try. Having seen it for the first time today I'm surprised it hasn't warranted comment on here. The Edinburgh scrum half has a penalty awarded against him for a deliberate knock-on, Conor Murray then takes out the Blue 9 and rolls him on his head despite him not having the ball and in the gap created, Earls takes a quick tap penalty and scores. Just wondering how I would have dealt with this as a referee (I've decided but am interested in other opinions)

  2. #2

    Promises to Referee in France
    L'irlandais's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    CT Alsace-Lorraine
    Grade
    EdR + LCA
    Join Date
    11 May 10
    Posts
    4,071
    Thanks (Received)
    36
    Likes (Received)
    195

    Default Re: Keith earls first try

    The Edinburgh camp mentioned it to the match referee straight away. Perhaps the ref was exasperated having told Black 9 to stay several times and been ignored. Edinburgh were caught napping, you have to be ready for a quickly taken FK.
    Last edited by L'irlandais; 04-04-19 at 17:04.
    "We demand strict proof for opinions we dislike, but are satisfied with mere hints for what we’re inclined to accept."
    John Henry Newman

  3. #3

    Promises to Referee in France
    L'irlandais's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    CT Alsace-Lorraine
    Grade
    EdR + LCA
    Join Date
    11 May 10
    Posts
    4,071
    Thanks (Received)
    36
    Likes (Received)
    195

    Default Re: Keith earls first try

    Conor Murray talks about it 5 minutes into this interview
    "We demand strict proof for opinions we dislike, but are satisfied with mere hints for what we’re inclined to accept."
    John Henry Newman

  4. #4

    Referees in America
    thepercy's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    New York State Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    21 Sep 13
    Posts
    635
    Thanks (Received)
    13
    Likes (Received)
    93

    Default Re: Keith earls first try

    Certainly E9 is in the pocket and offside, then intentionally knocks on. Especially since it is so close to his own goal line he should have been looking at a YC. Then M9 retaliates, plays E9 without the ball, after the whistle. Its hard to see in this clip, but I don't think E9 lands on his head, but the combination of other FP offenses by M9 would be YC worthy. PK reversed, no QT, No Try, No 9s for 10 minutes.

  5. #5
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    686
    Thanks (Received)
    10
    Likes (Received)
    147

    Default Re: Keith earls first try

    I think the foul play looks worse than it really is, however foul play trumps the deliberate knock on. Not sure I would be quick enough to blow before the try was scored, but would make my life easier if I could - no try either way.

  6. #6
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    KSRFUR
    Grade
    Level 10
    Join Date
    11 Apr 18
    Posts
    243
    Thanks (Received)
    8
    Likes (Received)
    57

    Default Re: Keith earls first try

    Also surprised the 9 was required to use it under those conditions. Hard to see who is guilt my of scrum going down - but I would have thought a reset was appropriate.

  7. #7
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    633
    Thanks (Received)
    14
    Likes (Received)
    112

    Default Re: Keith earls first try

    Quote Originally Posted by Flish View Post
    I think the foul play looks worse than it really is, however foul play trumps the deliberate knock on. Not sure I would be quick enough to blow before the try was scored, but would make my life easier if I could - no try either way.
    In this situation especially, with a TMO etc, why would you even try to blow before the try is scored. Best to hold off , consider all options and then make a decision. Easy to disallow the try but not possible to go the other way ie. award the try if you discover that it is warranted but you've blown before it's 'scored'.

  8. #8

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,481
    Thanks (Received)
    56
    Likes (Received)
    875

    Default Re: Keith earls first try

    i cant keep up with the protocols but its seems logical to me to let play flow, the "try" is scored then just go back to the TMO and have the discussion about any reasons not to award the try etc.

    different for you guys on a weekend at community level obvs.

    didds

  9. #9

    ELRA/Club Referee


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    08 Nov 18
    Posts
    80
    Thanks (Received)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    25

    Default Re: Keith earls first try

    Agree with most of the comments, allow the phase to play out then review. No try for me and reverse the penalty. I’d also want a really close look at how the Edinburgh 9 landed to decide whether a card is appropriate for the Munster 9.

  10. #10

    Promises to Referee in France
    L'irlandais's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    CT Alsace-Lorraine
    Grade
    EdR + LCA
    Join Date
    11 May 10
    Posts
    4,071
    Thanks (Received)
    36
    Likes (Received)
    195

    Default Re: Keith earls first try

    Did you not listen to Conor Murray say, he shouldn’t have retaliated, but the cynical fashion in which an offside player slapped the ball out of his hands mde him see red. He then went on to say, E9 landed on Conor Murray’s head so he came off worse from the act of retaliation.

    Pascal Gaüzère was letting both sides get away with murder at the breakdown. (Up until the point he reversed a penalty for an off the ball hit by 1Blue)
    Quote Originally Posted by French ref
    First infringement is a late tackle by red on blue [Marshall on van der Walt],” says Gaüzère, “and then the reaction by one blue [Schoeman]. He charged the player off the ball, so I reverse the penalty. Penalty against one blue.”
    The number of turnovers was phenomenal, but it stopped all flow, which ultimately cost Edinburgh the game. Stats guru may have the actual number of turnovers, if someone has the time or inclination.
    "We demand strict proof for opinions we dislike, but are satisfied with mere hints for what we’re inclined to accept."
    John Henry Newman

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •