Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 13 of 13

Thread: Contest in the air or deliberately knocked dead

      
  1. #11

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,705
    Thanks (Received)
    64
    Likes (Received)
    933

    Default Re: Contest in the air or deliberately knocked dead

    Quote Originally Posted by beckett50 View Post
    One hand in the air shows little intention to catch the ball, but to disrupt the actions of the Red player.
    but that in itself is not illegal - if a one handed tap out of red's hands that doesn't go forward, doesn't physically impede/challenge red in the air etc, and doesn't go dead (eg a defender touched it down, or grabbed it, ran the length of the field and scored etc) there would be no illegality. So a one handed effort is no more indicative of illegality, than a two handed flap is that deliberately knocks the ball dead that also takes red out in the air and causes him to land on his head which would be illegal.

    etc

    didds
    Last edited by didds; 05-04-19 at 15:04.

  2. #12
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cambridge and St Neots
    Grade
    I am a Fan
    Join Date
    08 Mar 11
    Posts
    1,385
    Thanks (Received)
    22
    Likes (Received)
    221

    Default Re: Contest in the air or deliberately knocked dead

    You are always permitted to contest possession.
    Because it is a contest in the air, neither play could know exactly wehere the ball would end up.
    So I cannot say 100% he deliberately knocked the ball dead.
    Therefore for me it is play on, no try 22DO.

  3. #13

    Referees in New Zealand


    Soc/Assoc
    Bay of Plenty
    Grade
    Secondary School
    Join Date
    05 May 11
    Posts
    1,649
    Thanks (Received)
    18
    Likes (Received)
    240

    Default Re: Contest in the air or deliberately knocked dead

    You would have to see it to give a definitive opinion. However unless you are able to say that he deliberately knocked it dead, it's a 22 DO.

    What you describe sounds like a legal contest of the ball which resulted in it going dead. It sounds like he lacked the necessary mens rea for a Penalty. A player is not offending if he is just reckless as to whether the ball might go dead.
    "There is far too much talk about good ball and bad ball. In my opinion, good ball is when you have possession and bad ball is when the opposition have it." - Dick Jeeps

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •