Page 1 of 8 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 72

Thread: Incorrectly taken penalty.

      
  1. #1
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    KSRFUR
    Grade
    Level 10
    Join Date
    11 Apr 18
    Posts
    254
    Thanks (Received)
    8
    Likes (Received)
    57

    Default Incorrectly taken penalty.


      • A penalty or free-kick must be taken without delay.
      • Any player from the non-offending team may take it, other than for a free-kick awarded for a mark.
      • The kicker must use the ball that was in play unless the referee decides it is defective.
      • The kicker may punt, drop-kick or place-kick (other than for touch) the ball.
      • The kicker may kick the ball in any direction.
      • Other than the placer at a place-kick, the kicker’s team must remain behind the ball until it has been kicked.
      • The ball must be kicked a visible distance. If the kicker is holding it, it must clearly leave the hands. If it is on the ground, it must clearly leave the mark. Once the kick has been successfully taken the kicker may play the ball again.


      • But the sanction seems to have vanished... has it moved, or is it now undefined?

  2. #2

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,842
    Thanks (Received)
    128
    Likes (Received)
    1619

    Default Re: Incorrectly taken penalty.

    Quote Originally Posted by mcroker View Post

      • A penalty or free-kick must be taken without delay.
      • Any player from the non-offending team may take it, other than for a free-kick awarded for a mark.
      • The kicker must use the ball that was in play unless the referee decides it is defective.
      • The kicker may punt, drop-kick or place-kick (other than for touch) the ball.
      • The kicker may kick the ball in any direction.
      • Other than the placer at a place-kick, the kicker’s team must remain behind the ball until it has been kicked.
      • The ball must be kicked a visible distance. If the kicker is holding it, it must clearly leave the hands. If it is on the ground, it must clearly leave the mark. Once the kick has been successfully taken the kicker may play the ball again.


      • But the sanction seems to have vanished... has it moved, or is it now undefined?
    If the PK wasn't taken , the game hasn't restarted .. so take the PK

  3. #3
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cardiff Society of Welsh Rugby Union Referees
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    05 Jan 18
    Posts
    1,236
    Thanks (Received)
    17
    Likes (Received)
    255

    Default Re: Incorrectly taken penalty.

    Refer to your copy of the 2017 book

  4. #4
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    KSRFUR
    Grade
    Level 10
    Join Date
    11 Apr 18
    Posts
    254
    Thanks (Received)
    8
    Likes (Received)
    57

    Default Re: Incorrectly taken penalty.

    Quote Originally Posted by Marc Wakeham View Post
    Refer to your copy of the 2017 book
    I was fearing that was the case :s

    2017 says “Sanction: Unless otherwise stated in Law any infringement by the kicker’s team results in a scrum at the mark. The opposing team throw in the ball.” (Not using law box deliberate)
    Last edited by mcroker; 10-04-19 at 23:04.

  5. #5

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,892
    Thanks (Received)
    32
    Likes (Received)
    327

    Default Re: Incorrectly taken penalty.

    Quote Originally Posted by Marc Wakeham View Post
    Refer to your copy of the 2017 book
    Exactly. I'm pretty sure the wording for the general rule is

    Any offence by the kicking side results in an opposition scrum at the mark.

  6. #6

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,219
    Thanks (Received)
    104
    Likes (Received)
    1240

    Default Re: Incorrectly taken penalty.

    Agree with crossref. The old "if the quick tap doesn't leave your hands it's a scrum to the opposition" is kaput.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  7. #7

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,842
    Thanks (Received)
    128
    Likes (Received)
    1619

    Default Re: Incorrectly taken penalty.

    Quote Originally Posted by mcroker View Post
    I was fearing that was the case :s
    But it's not, is it? We must all use the current Law Book , we cant pick and choose Laws from old Law Books

  8. #8

    Referees in Australia
    menace's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    ACTRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    20 Nov 09
    Posts
    3,533
    Thanks (Received)
    59
    Likes (Received)
    481
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Incorrectly taken penalty.

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    Agree with crossref. The old "if the quick tap doesn't leave your hands it's a scrum to the opposition" is kaput.
    I keep adding glue and blue-tac to keep it un-kaput!
    Tell em it's Law 23 and smile

  9. #9

    Referees in Australia
    The Fat's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    FNCRRA
    Grade
    L1 Ref & L2 AR
    Join Date
    15 Jul 10
    Posts
    4,199
    Thanks (Received)
    51
    Likes (Received)
    444

    Default Re: Incorrectly taken penalty.

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    But it's not, is it? We must all use the current Law Book , we cant pick and choose Laws from old Law Books
    Got a sanction and law reference for non-compliance with each of those actions in OP?
    When you are dead, you don't know that you are dead. It is difficult only for the others.
    It's the same when you are stupid.

  10. #10
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    697
    Thanks (Received)
    10
    Likes (Received)
    147

    Default Re: Incorrectly taken penalty.

    Also, if you work in reverse, on the Scrum page an 'incorrectly taken penalty kick' is not listed as a reason for a scrum in the table, so is it a scrum? Not sure if these tables are supposed to be all encompassing though;

    https://laws.worldrugby.org/?law=19

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •