Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 45678
Results 71 to 72 of 72

Thread: Incorrectly taken penalty.

      
  1. #71

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,433
    Thanks (Received)
    124
    Likes (Received)
    1581

    Default Re: Incorrectly taken penalty.

    The Laws have changed ... But in practice for almost any everyday scenario we are likely to encounter the outcome is the same

    The exception to that is the quick tap not tapped properly . In the old days it was a scrum (with many referees doing take it again). Now it really is take it again

  2. #72
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Rugby Nederland
    Grade
    WR level 2
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    993
    Thanks (Received)
    13
    Likes (Received)
    262

    Default Re: Incorrectly taken penalty.

    crossref, there have been several threads recently where you seem to have been wilfully ignoring or misrepresenting arguments, and I'm not sure why the change.

    In 2017, a player in front of the kicker who (say) interfered with the catch would have led to a scrum back at the mark; the same for players in front who didn't retire. An unnecessary delay would then have been sanctioned by a scrum back at the mark. A place kick for touch likewise.

    In 2019 you sanction the players in front with the offside law, but that is a change in the laws, because taking the penalty was not open play and was explicitly sanctioned with a scrum back. Even if you wish to argue that the penalty was resumption of open play, the previous requirement at a penalty was to retire, whereas under Law 10 you can stay still until put onside.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •