Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23

Thread: Does a penalty try count as a conversion?

      
  1. #11

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,022
    Thanks (Received)
    97
    Likes (Received)
    1194

    Default Re: Does a penalty try count as a conversion?

    Quote Originally Posted by Flish View Post
    Yes, tries scored first, then conversions, then away team.
    I guess the logic is that 3 successful shots at goal out trumps 2.

    Over here, it would normally be first try scored goes through.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  2. #12
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    616
    Thanks (Received)
    12
    Likes (Received)
    109

    Default Re: Does a penalty try count as a conversion?

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post

    Over here, it would normally be first try scored goes through.
    In IRFUland it's generally most tries, first try, first score, etc.

  3. #13

    Referees in England
    ianh5979's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    North Yorkshire
    Grade
    9
    Join Date
    05 Jul 08
    Posts
    421
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    18

    Default Re: Does a penalty try count as a conversion?

    In Uk its normally most tries, then most conversions, if still tied extra time( in adult but not Junior),then away team goes through
    Last edited by ianh5979; 6 Days Ago at 04:04.

  4. #14

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,423
    Thanks (Received)
    124
    Likes (Received)
    1577

    Default Re: Does a penalty try count as a conversion?

    In the biggest merit table here it's
    2x1o mins extra time
    More extra time and sudden death.

    So no count back

  5. #15
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    637
    Thanks (Received)
    9
    Likes (Received)
    135

    Default Re: Does a penalty try count as a conversion?

    Quote Originally Posted by ianh5979 View Post
    In Uk its normally most tries, then most conversions, if still tied extra time( in adult but not Junior),then away team goes through
    The away team rule came into play in a U16s cup final round here the other week, harsh on the kids and some grumbling, but it was there at the start of the comp.

  6. #16

    Referees in Scotland
    Pinky's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Edinburgh Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    09 Apr 10
    Posts
    1,360
    Thanks (Received)
    13
    Likes (Received)
    143

    Default Re: Does a penalty try count as a conversion?

    Quote Originally Posted by Flish View Post
    Regs I have, the specific wording is;



    Technically, I don't think a PT is 'a goal from a try' (It's just 7 points instead of 5), but agree I can't see them punishing a team for it, but who knows. I think I would offer my opinion and no more, confirm score cards match (and reflect the PT), and recommend they call it in asap for a decision.
    Flish, as i am sure OB can confirm, a converted try used to be called a goal and was worth 5 points with the try itself just worth 3, so I would presume that the PT is regarded as a converted try on any countback.

  7. #17

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,423
    Thanks (Received)
    124
    Likes (Received)
    1577

    Default Re: Does a penalty try count as a conversion?

    Quote Originally Posted by Flish View Post
    The away team rule came into play in a U16s cup final round here the other week, harsh on the kids and some grumbling, but it was there at the start of the comp.
    it's quite an advantage to be at home in cup final

  8. #18

    Referees in Scotland
    Pinky's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Edinburgh Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    09 Apr 10
    Posts
    1,360
    Thanks (Received)
    13
    Likes (Received)
    143

    Default Re: Does a penalty try count as a conversion?

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    it's quite an advantage to be at home in cup final
    Which is why cup finals are often played at neutral venues - In Scotland, for example there is a day when a number of cup finals are played at Murrayfield.

  9. #19
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    616
    Thanks (Received)
    12
    Likes (Received)
    109

    Default Re: Does a penalty try count as a conversion?

    Curious what others here think of 'sharing' a title after a drawn game in a youths final?

  10. #20

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,423
    Thanks (Received)
    124
    Likes (Received)
    1577

    Default Re: Does a penalty try count as a conversion?

    Quote Originally Posted by Decorily View Post
    Curious what others here think of 'sharing' a title after a drawn game in a youths final?
    I think counting tries scored seems completely fair

    If the same .. why not call it a draw

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •