Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: Does a penalty try count as a conversion?

      
  1. #1
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    689
    Thanks (Received)
    10
    Likes (Received)
    147

    Default Does a penalty try count as a conversion?

    Possibly a local regulations one here, but in the county cup games here the match is decided on score, then if a try on tries scored, conversions then away team.

    So, if we have a draw where the kicked conversions are equal but one of the teams has also been awarded a PT does that count as a conversion in terms of the result?

    Or do we just let committee decide the result!

  2. #2

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,747
    Thanks (Received)
    127
    Likes (Received)
    1611

    Default Re: Does a penalty try count as a conversion?

    Step 1 is to find the regulations that apply ... County website ?
    if the regs aren't clear then, indeed, some commitee will decide

  3. #3
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cardiff Society of Welsh Rugby Union Referees
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    05 Jan 18
    Posts
    1,215
    Thanks (Received)
    16
    Likes (Received)
    254

    Default Re: Does a penalty try count as a conversion?

    I can't imagine team would be penalized for getting a PT.


    That said send the result in and leave it to the organisers. "Not my Baby"

  4. #4
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    689
    Thanks (Received)
    10
    Likes (Received)
    147

    Default Re: Does a penalty try count as a conversion?

    Regs I have, the specific wording is;

    In all ties except the Finals, if at the end of 40 minutes play each way the scores are equal, then the team that has scored the most tries shall go forward into the next round. If this does not produce a result, then the team that has scored the most goals from tries shall go into the next round. If a result is still not forthcoming then the VISITING TEAM shall go forward into the next round.
    Technically, I don't think a PT is 'a goal from a try' (It's just 7 points instead of 5), but agree I can't see them punishing a team for it, but who knows. I think I would offer my opinion and no more, confirm score cards match (and reflect the PT), and recommend they call it in asap for a decision.

  5. #5

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,485
    Thanks (Received)
    56
    Likes (Received)
    875

    Default Re: Does a penalty try count as a conversion?

    agree with Flish. its not your decision to make that call.

    didds

  6. #6

    Referees in England
    Pablo's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Buckinghamshire Referees Society
    Grade
    6
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    1,291
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    38

    Default Re: Does a penalty try count as a conversion?

    Agree with all the above. Were I on the organising committee, I would view a PT as counting towards the total number of conversions - only seems fair.

    But since I'm not on the organising committee, this gets filed as Somebody Else's Problem. Not my circus, not my monkeys!
    If you can keep your head when all about you are losing theirs and blaming it on you... you must be a rugby referee!

    "Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity - and I'm not sure about the universe..." - Albert Einstein

  7. #7

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,419
    Thanks (Received)
    106
    Likes (Received)
    1493

    Default Re: Does a penalty try count as a conversion?

    Thanks, Flish. I'll get our cup rules changed asap to include penalty tries!
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  8. #8
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    689
    Thanks (Received)
    10
    Likes (Received)
    147

    Default Re: Does a penalty try count as a conversion?

    For what it’s worth the official reply back (here in Durham at least) was that a PT also counts as a successful conversion

  9. #9

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,183
    Thanks (Received)
    103
    Likes (Received)
    1233

    Default Re: Does a penalty try count as a conversion?

    Game finishes in 21 all draw. Team A (who has scored 3 times with 3 converted tries) goes through while team B (who has scored 5 times with 3 unconverted tries and 2 penalty goals) doesn't?
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  10. #10
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    689
    Thanks (Received)
    10
    Likes (Received)
    147

    Default Re: Does a penalty try count as a conversion?

    Yes, tries scored first, then conversions, then away team.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •