Quote Originally Posted by ChrisR View Post
I think that in 'dual possession', where both players are grasping only the ball, then the player that gets a knee on the ground has taken himself out of the game and must cede the ball.
For me this would only apply where there was not a ball carrier and a subsequent attempt to rip, eg two players jump for the ball and come down both with hands on./ If one of them goes to ground, (ie puts a knee down) I am going to judge him as out of the game and has to release.

However in the OP there is a ball carrier who had the ball targetted to be ripped. If the BC gets a knee to the ground, I would treate it as a tackle and require the other player to release and allow the BC to play the ball.