Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Assisting the ball carrier when he is tackled

      
  1. #1

    Probationer Member


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    10 May 19
    Posts
    1
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default Assisting the ball carrier when he is tackled

    This happens a lot when a player is tackled close to touch. The tacklers try to push the ball carrier into touch. His team mates help him resist. Is this legal? If so, why donít the ball carriers team help him in every tackle. If not, why donít refs blow up for it. ó they donít seem to

  2. #2

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,669
    Thanks (Received)
    127
    Likes (Received)
    1609

    Default Re: Assisting the ball carrier when he is tackled

    Great question!

  3. #3

    Referees in Scotland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    20 Dec 17
    Posts
    409
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    90

    Default Re: Assisting the ball carrier when he is tackled

    Seems legal to me, once players from both sides engage we probably have a maul, and as long as teams adhere to maul law I see nothing wrong with this. I am not aware of a law that prohibits driving a tackle/maul into touch, or resisting said drive.

  4. #4

    Referees in Ireland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    25 May 16
    Posts
    515
    Thanks (Received)
    9
    Likes (Received)
    51

    Default Re: Assisting the ball carrier when he is tackled

    Has a tackle actually occurred .
    If ball carrier is brought to ground including 1 knee .
    The tackler has to release , so now once released he has to leave ball carrier alone & play for ball only ( via gate ) .
    So in this instance , even if the ball carrier is holding the ball , the tackler cant drag him into touch .

    I would say , that in posters question .
    No tackle has taken place ,, all players are on their feet & therefore as zebra suggests .
    We are probably in a maul situation ..and therefore pushing out of touch is legal .

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •