Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Assisting the ball carrier when he is tackled

      
  1. #1

    Probationer Member


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    10 May 19
    Posts
    1
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default Assisting the ball carrier when he is tackled

    This happens a lot when a player is tackled close to touch. The tacklers try to push the ball carrier into touch. His team mates help him resist. Is this legal? If so, why don’t the ball carriers team help him in every tackle. If not, why don’t refs blow up for it. — they don’t seem to

  2. #2

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,820
    Thanks (Received)
    139
    Likes (Received)
    1775

    Default Re: Assisting the ball carrier when he is tackled

    Great question!

  3. #3

    Referees in Scotland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    20 Dec 17
    Posts
    486
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    121

    Default Re: Assisting the ball carrier when he is tackled

    Seems legal to me, once players from both sides engage we probably have a maul, and as long as teams adhere to maul law I see nothing wrong with this. I am not aware of a law that prohibits driving a tackle/maul into touch, or resisting said drive.

  4. #4

    Referees in Ireland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    25 May 16
    Posts
    525
    Thanks (Received)
    9
    Likes (Received)
    51

    Default Re: Assisting the ball carrier when he is tackled

    Has a tackle actually occurred .
    If ball carrier is brought to ground including 1 knee .
    The tackler has to release , so now once released he has to leave ball carrier alone & play for ball only ( via gate ) .
    So in this instance , even if the ball carrier is holding the ball , the tackler cant drag him into touch .

    I would say , that in posters question .
    No tackle has taken place ,, all players are on their feet & therefore as zebra suggests .
    We are probably in a maul situation ..and therefore pushing out of touch is legal .

  5. #5

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    Cumbria -The North
    Grade
    Advisor/Assessor
    Join Date
    14 Mar 05
    Posts
    1,786
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    85

    Default Re: Assisting the ball carrier when he is tackled

    I worry more about assisting or pushing the ball carrier as he is about to be tackled by a single opponent; Two bodies legally crashing into one- not much fun being on the receiving end of these.
    Those are my principles, and if you don't like them... well, I have others.
    (Groucho Marx)

  6. #6
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Rugby Nederland
    Grade
    WR level 2
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    1,207
    Thanks (Received)
    18
    Likes (Received)
    324

    Default Re: Assisting the ball carrier when he is tackled

    Quote Originally Posted by Zebra1922 View Post
    Seems legal to me, once players from both sides engage we probably have a maul, and as long as teams adhere to maul law I see nothing wrong with this. I am not aware of a law that prohibits driving a tackle/maul into touch, or resisting said drive.
    This is the League forum, and RL doesn't allow mauls.

  7. #7

    Referees in Ireland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    25 May 16
    Posts
    525
    Thanks (Received)
    9
    Likes (Received)
    51

    Default Re: Assisting the ball carrier when he is tackled

    Quote Originally Posted by Rich_NL View Post
    This is the League forum, and RL doesn't allow mauls.
    Thanks ,,i didnt realise it was rugby league forum bit .
    So if there are no mauls ,, is it still legal

  8. #8
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    West Yorkshire
    Grade
    Ref Advisor/Assessor
    Join Date
    16 May 16
    Posts
    66
    Thanks (Received)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    15

    Default Re: Assisting the ball carrier when he is tackled

    If any of the 4 ways a tackle can occur has happened then you can't push, drag or carry a player to try to get them into touch, but up until this point an opposition player can try to get the ball carrier into touch and it then upto the referee to judge if and when a tackle has taken place.

    RL tackles -

    1 Grounded - held on ground by one or more opposing player and the ball or hand/arm holding the ball comes in contact with the ground.
    2 Upright - held by one or more opposing players in such a manner that they can make no further progress and cannot part with the ball.
    3 Succumbing - when, being held by an opponent the tackled player makes it evident that they have succumbed to the tackle and wish to release the ball to play it.
    4 Hand on player - ball carrier is lying on the ground and an opponent already grounded places a hand on them.

  9. #9

    Promises to Referee in France
    L'irlandais's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    CT Alsace-Lorraine
    Grade
    EdR + LCA
    Join Date
    11 May 10
    Posts
    4,383
    Thanks (Received)
    41
    Likes (Received)
    231

    Default Re: Assisting the ball carrier when he is tackled

    There is a foornote to the Law Elpablo73 cites
    Moving tackled player 2. (a) Where opponents do not make a tackle effective in the quickest possible manner but attempt to push, pull or carry the player in possession, it is permissible for colleagues of the tackled player to lend their weight in order to avoid losing ground. Immediately this happens the referee should call “Held”.
    Laws of the “other” game
    "We demand strict proof for opinions we dislike, but are satisfied with mere hints for what we’re inclined to accept."
    John Henry Newman

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •